DarkJade’s – The Mortality Report

by darkjade68

DarkJade’s Mortality Report – Volume One

by DarkJade

If you’ve come for the Movie with Tom Cruise in it (The Minority Report), you’ve come to the wrong place, lol

Or The List of The Dead somewhere like in the Middle East… Once again, sorry, this isn’t the place.

No, but this is the place I’ll be discussing this little thing called “Life”, and/or “The Gift of Life”.

It’s funny, I’ve always liked my Birthday… In fact, it’s probably safe to say, that I’ve always loved my Birthday…

Which in my Experience, a lot of people simply don’t…

Be it because of bad Birthday Parties, or lack there of, or just generally connections to a not all that pleasant youth… Or so I suspect.

Or was it “Fear of Getting Older?”… Hmm, in some cases, maybe

But not for me, no… I’ve always loved my Birthday.

Well, I’d say a few years ago, that kinda sorta started to change… It wasn’t that I didn’t like my Birthday anymore, it’s just, I don’t know.

One of the things I’ve battled with over the last year and a half, is My Mom hitting the Age of 70…

Granted, she’s healthy enough, but it’s definitely been a time that I’ve started to think, “How will life be without her on the planet?”.

Now I’m not trying to bum you out, or discuss “The Unmentionables”, in fact, mainly, the reason it’s been present in my mind a bit is partly/largely because, well, My Mom is my Best Friend.

Granted, in truth, her and my Brother probably share that Title… But My Brother, for the last 13 years or so, has pretty much been tied up, up north with his own family… A wife, and two Boys.

Sure, I’ve seen him pretty frequently over the last 13 or so years, in fact I’ve moved near him a total of three times during that time… First for 9 Months, Second for 4 months (would have been longer but he moved away), and lastly for 2 or 3 months.

But for the most part, our relationship consists of him calling me, or texting me… In fact, it’s actually been a year since I’ve physically seen him… Which is unusual, but life is kinda fallen that way during the last year or so.

And so, the Frequent Football Texts are my greatest connection with him, as he loves Football… But more than that, he loves talking to me about football (Go Giants by the way, lol).

But, My Mom and I, as it’s turned out, we’ve seen quite a bit of each other during the last 7 or so years.

Before that, I was either tied up with Relationships, or merely traveling all over the place, exploring additional places to live here in the United States, as opposed to where I grew up, which was Southern California.

So one of the things that has come up during the last year, was the fact that my Blood Sugar was a bit high… Okay, so I’ve been working on reducing it, which I have… But I need to reduce it more.

And most recently, the Doc told me that my Triglycerides are a bit high, wow, hadn’t heard that one before.

Though I must admit, I always kinda feared the whole cholesterol thing… Not that I eat all that terribly, just, I don’t know, I’ve been around some people whom ended up having High Cholesterol, whose health wasn’t all that good.

Keep in mind, Triglycerides aren’t Cholesterol, no, these are two different things.

Triglycerides from what I can determine, are a form of fat that your system uses for Energy… However, if they are too high, they can increase your risk for heart disease etc…

I suppose it makes sense that the age thing would start to be more of an issue for a person when words like Triglycerides are being brought into conversations… Granted, you can have High Triglycerides at a pretty young age, but, I don’t know, it does kinda knock on the door of Mortality and say, “Hey, don’t forget about me, Enjoy your life, and Take Care of yourself so you can have a long one”.

Anyway, all of this stuff has started to get me thinking, not necessarily a good thing, but indeed a normal thing, an so I thought, I’m a Writer, I’ll Write about it, lol

Nuff Said
Thanks for Liseting/Reading

DarkJade-

PICTURE CRED IT – Mortality and Immortality

6 Comments to “DarkJade’s – The Mortality Report”

  1. Hi Dark Jade,
    I still love having a Birthday, getting together with friends and having a bit of fun
    (even though I am a bit of an old girl. :) )

  2. I have birthday in 9 days, they aren’t as much fun as they used to be!

  3. That’s what a good writer does, write about their experiences.
    As someone who was very close to his mother & lost her I will confirm your suspicions, it’s tough. It takes time (and for myself plenty of writing & tears) but over-time you start to appreciate all the things she taught you & realize a part of her will always be with you. Appreciate her physical form while you can, but know that she will NEVER truly vanish.

    • Thanks Taurean, yours is one of the Sites I look to when I’m thinking on the subject… As I know you’ve lost both of your parents, and appear to have been very close to your mom.

      Thanks for the Insights

      DarkJade-

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,453 other followers

