A Day in the Life of a Photo Blogger

by noirciplume

Please forgive my absence lately. We all live a crazy life. Escaping the blogosphere gave me a chance to breathe once more. Although it does not mean that I gained any new materials and ideas. I gained nothing but living and reviewing what I already have.

However, my daily routine of blogging are usually taken in the same steps. Four items are often employed:

  1. A Nikon D700 DSLR camera, aka my baby. From all my abroad and domestic travels I use my one and only Nikon. I love it!  Yes, it is heavy; but aren’t all photographer’s equipment heavy? All I can say is that you get used to the weight. You just have to take care of your shoulders and hands. I’ve strained them more than once from heavy backpacking adventures. It doesn’t help when you own a huge wide-angled lens. Nevertheless, you do get the odd jealous looks and compliments when carrying one of these.
  2. My leather (custom-made) notebook. I take this everywhere with me. It is always in my handbag, ready and waiting to be written on. What do I write, you ask? All my first drafted blog posts and ideas. Ever since graduating from school, I strangely miss writing by hand. I’ll even admit that I miss writing those literature essays. Thus, a Moleskine and a Field Notes notebook are essential.
  3. You cannot carry a notebook without a pen. A fountain pen is my other frequently used item. My other addiction in life are fountain pens. I have a small collection. If I had the money, I would collect a whole load more of them. But my main Cross Affinity fountain pen will do nicely.
  4. Lastly, I cannot forget about Eve. Eve is my Macbook Pro laptop. Although I’ve only had her for 5 months, I can’t live without her. Computers are my life, in every geeky way. Here are a few computer softwares I use for editing and blogging:
      • Adobe Lightroom 4 (photo editing)
      • Adobe Photoshop CS3 (photo editing)
      • Evernote (blog post notes and structure)
      • Byword (writing blog post)
      • Dropbox (transferring data from two computers)

As you can see, I undertake a lot of steps before I publish a blog post. I probably go through three written drafts before a blog post is finalised. Perhaps it’s that little OCD in me. When it comes to writing a blog post, I highly recommend Evernote. It’s a great note-taking tool. If you are looking for an Evernote blog post template, I recommend Michael Hyatt. I use a similar template structure. It really helps a lot.

15 Responses to “A Day in the Life of a Photo Blogger”

  1. What a lovely post, thank you Kirsty. And thank you Dark Jade! This is a little like looking under the hood at the engine and discovering all sorts of interesting details which always result in such good blog posts from you!

  2. Regarding point 1, have you ever tried a Black Rapid strap? They’re a bit expensive for what they are but they do work.

  3. I love this noirciplume! Little excerpts of blogger’s lives always intruige me and this was a wonderful read :)

  4. Nice! I also carry a pen and a notebook or some paper with me :)

  5. Wow so much preparation :) It’s crazy how planning requires much more effort that the actual writing itself.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

