Camp NaNoWriMo 2012

by quillwielder

Hello my fellow Dark Globians!

As some of you may know in the month of November every year there is a writing exercise know as Nation Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo. Basically  you write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. There are prizes for those who reach the 50k mark as well as great support throughout the entire event.

But November is ages away and some of us (including me) want to get our writing on now. Last year, 2011, Camp NaNoWriMo was created. It is exactly the same as the normal NaNo event, you still have to write 50,000 words in a month, BUT it happens in June and August.

Now I’ve been talking about this event a lot on my blog because I’ve decided to enter the June Camp NaNo (probably the other ones too). I’m already working on my novel idea. And I just thought I should share the wonders of this event with everyone here on the Dark Globe. Wouldn’t want you to miss out!

You can click on the links above to go their site, sign up, everything is free. Create your profile and novel profile and when the month comes around WRITE!!!!!

This is definitely something all writers should be having a go at. It’s just a wonderful experience even if you don’t make it to 50k at least you were a part of something amazing and you got some writing done.

But wouldn’t you be absolutely stoked if you made it to the 50,000 words and became a winner?

I’m trying extra hard this year to get to my 50k goal!

Let me know if any of you plan to do Camp NaNo next month (or August or November). I’d love to form some sort of online support group to encourage each other throughout the month.

14 Responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo 2012”

  1. Good luck! I knew a few bloggers who took part in NaNoWriMo, and they weren’t even writers. Maybe one day I’ll have the courage to take part. That little part in me has always wanted to.

  2. I did the NANOWRIMO november 2011. lots of ups and downs, emotions.met more cyber friends and joined groups for support. I manage to complete and become a winner, Still writing the novel… but yes it was an excellent experience. Go for it. not sure if I will do this one,but might…

    • Well done! I did the same one last year, but didn’t make it unfortunately. It was a busy time for me, but this time I am determined!

      • It was the encouragement from others that helped me through. I needed 20,000 + in eight days and was going to stop trying, but the words from others and my imagination started…great fun, if that is the right thing to say..;)

        • Support from others can really do the trick when you’re in a bind that’s why I’m asking if anyone is going to do the June camp. Though I will be put in a “bunk” at random with some people for support which I think is a great idea by the people a NaNo.

  3. *Sobs when the realization that it coincides with the release of Halo 4 emerges into mind*

  4. As awesome as I am, I dunno if I could actually write a 50,000 word novel. I have tried before and failed =/ What do you win if you do finish it? Or is it one of those mental victories? (They are the worst)

  5. So this is what it’s about … I’ve seen the CampNano button on a blog I follow a while ago until now I didn’t know about it. It all sounds awesome and I might, just might, sign up next time but for now I stick to short stories. Good luck Quill,!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,451 other followers

