The Magician’s Nephew (The Cronicles of Narnia #1) by C.S Lewis

by Devina

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Goodreads Blurb

When Digory and Polly are tricked by Digory’s peculiar Uncle Andrew into becoming part of an experiment, they set off on the adventure of a lifetime. What happens to the children when they touch Uncle Andrew’s magic rings is far beyond anything even the old magician could have imagined.

Hurtled into the Wood between the Worlds, the children soon find that they can enter many worlds through the mysterious pools there. In one world they encounter the evil Queen Jadis, who wreaks havoc in the streets of London when she is accidentally brought back with them. When they finally manage to pull her out of London, unintentionally taking along Uncle Andrew and a coachman with his horse, they find themselves in what will come to be known as the land of Narnia.

My Review

Boy oh boy, was I glad I found The Magician’s Nephew before I began The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe! This book was simply magical! Diggory and Penny’s friendship and curiosity – the kind of curiosity which only children seemed to be blessed with – was the crucial bit that laid a foundation for the other books in the series. Though how horrid and cowardly (and ridiculously funny in his own way) Diggory’s uncle – the said Magician – might have been, his role was just as important.

Here we learn about how the charming and wonderful world of Narnia came to be! Not forgetting how the White Witch, Queen Jadis, had come to lay her wretched eyes upon it’s bounty. I’m sucked into this magical world with Polly and Diggory, a world filled with love, magic, mystery, beauty beyond imagination and danger, it was certainly an honor to witness the birth of Narnia (my most favourite part), the coronation of it’s very first King and Queen and to be graced with Aslan’s noble presence, an honor I tell you.

I was filled inside with what I felt was the beginning of a rather fierce longing to be there in Narnia, to bask in the warmth of it’s new sun, to laugh and to live amongst it’s people (if I may say so for many of these people seem to have more than a pair of legs amongst other parts), to exist in a world where there were no barriers where the trees, animals and man alike can live together in harmony as a family, my kind of utopia.

I could go on but I shouldn’t, least I give away more than I already have. I highly recommend The Magician’s Nephew to everyone both adults and children, for no one’s too old for magic, adventure, friendship and love.

You can read more here.

Cheers, all!

Devina ;)

4 Responses to “The Magician’s Nephew (The Cronicles of Narnia #1) by C.S Lewis”

  1. Quite interesting. I honestly loved visiting your website. Thanks.

    • Thank you, I’m delighted you did! This is one of those books that will make you really wish you were in them. I’m sincerely sorry for replying so late, I some how missed your comment.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,453 other followers

