Archive for June 17th, 2012

June 17, 2012

Book Review: Underneath

by 'Ard Pete

What’s that? Pete’s writing a review… on a book? Yeah what of it? I read books; sometimes.

Usually I’m the type of person that’s quite content on reading a few pages of a book, putting it down and watching television. Because man, I love television. If there’s nothing worth watching then I’ll usually pop on a film, most likely a Nicolas Cage or John Cusack film. Sometimes I’ll treat myself and put on Con Air.

Anyway where was I? Oh yeah. Books.

Reviewing books isn’t really my thing, I’m not what you’d call an avid reader however taking part in NaNoWriMo and actually writing a novel of my own has given me renewed interest in reading again if only to pick up pointers on how to write. This brings me to today where one of my favourite writers on WordPress, Michael Cargill announced the release of his first novel; Underneath. I didn’t even know he was writing a novel so I was pleasantly surprised.

June 17, 2012

A Little Slice of Life-Running From Dinosaurs

by Patrick Dykie

     How many of you parents out there have had your wide-eyed and innocent young children ask you what it was like to live during the time of the dinosaurs? Makes you feel a little old, doesn’t it? I remember when my son was about three, very precocious, just learning about life, totally fixated on dinosaurs, and having no concept of time or age. To his young and impressionable mind, I was incredibly old, had answers for everything, and was as ancient as the pyramids of Egypt.

      I remember one particular night, when I was tucking him into bed after he had spent hours reading books about dinosaurs so huge their footsteps shook the earth, playing with a plastic model of a toothy Tyrannosaurus Rex, and watching reruns of the Flintstones. As I gently kissed him on the forehead, turned off his Scooby Doo night-light, and pulled the covers up to his neck, he looked up at me with eager, loving and trusting eyes and said,

“Daddy; what was it like to live in caves, wear animal skins, drag mommy around by her hair, carry huge clubs, and run for your life from big, hungry dinosaurs?”

     I rustled his hair, thought for a moment and said…….

June 17, 2012

Dark Globe Editorial – The Strangeness of Estrangement

by darkjade68

THE DARK GLOBE – EDITORIAL – 2012 TWELTH EDITION

by DarkJade

The Strangeness Of Estrangement

 

 

I have found that “Estrangement” stretches even beyond the realm of “Romantic” Relationships…

I experienced a bit of it last night, and it has stirred up several different relationships in my life where I have experienced “Estrangement”.

Let me Splain Lucy, Lol (Bad I Love Lucy Reference, Lol)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers