The Dark Globe – Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance… In Review

by 'Ard Pete

I wasn’t going to do a review on this film mostly because it’s probably one of the worst superhero films I’ve ever watched in my life, the first Ghost Rider film was pretty “meh” but compare the first one to this one and I agree with the comment one critic made, “the sequel makes the first film look like Dark Knight” that’s how bad this film was. I saw it advertised on television and it just reminded me how bad this film actually was. I’ve watched some crap films in my time, but this is the first film in history that I have ever switched off before the ending not caring how it ended.

People that know me know that I am a massive Nicolas Cage fan, he’s one of my favourite actors of ALL TIME, Con Air, The Rock, Family Man, Snake Eyes, Gone In 60 Seconds, Leaving Las Vegas, Face/Off, City Of Angels, Lord Of War, the list goes on and on and on and I’ve loved them all even if some people haven’t.

He can play the bad ass action movie star, he can play the crazy OCD maniac, the cool cop, he’s more diverse than people give him credit for but even his presence in this film cannot save what a bad movie this actually was.

Over recent years he’s gone the way of John Travolta and some how managed to become irrelevant. I haven’t really liked a film he’s done since 2005’s Lord Of War, all of his films since then have been pretty much a joke compared to what he used to be and it’s a real shame to see your favourite actor fall from grace like this.

 

Story; Quite a while as passed since the events of the first film, Johnny Blaze (lolz) is now on the run from anyone and everyone in the hopes to stop his alter ego The Ghost Rider from harming anyone. He wants to be free of the curse, a monk (CHRISTOPHER LAMBERT~!!!) tells him he can help him free him of the curse if he looks after a special boy and stops anything bad happening to him from “Roarke” and to stop the devil from taking human form. He then has to fend off another human turned demon called “Blackout”.

 

Character’s;

Johnny Blaze/Ghost Rider (Nicolas Cage) – I said it before and I’ll say it again. Watching this film just makes me feel sorry for Nicolas Cage, maybe he was desperate due to his recent money problems, or maybe he was contracted to do it, I just don’t want to believe he actually thought this movie would be a great choice. If he did then he needs his head checking, he just seemed disinterested in this film and he knows he can and has done much much better than this crock of shit.

Ray Carrigan/Blackout (Johnny Whitworth) – One thing that could have made this film somewhat acceptable would have been a known name for a nemesis but instead we get a forgettable performance from Whitworth, whose probably best known for his role in CSI: Miami as a recurring character. Apart from a small role in Limitless I really don’t know anything else about this actor and the fact that his alter ego looks more like a Wraith from Stargate Atlantis just makes him laughable in this film. He’s set to reprise this role in the animated series of Ultimate Spider Man which starts next year, well… good for you.

I really hate films that hopes it’ll do well because of the title actor involved rather than have other big named actors, but it’s possible that any decent actor turned roles in this movie simply because they knew how tacky it was going to be. Although I was surprised to see Anthony Head who played Giles in Buffy the Vampire Slayer, he’s always a delight to watch but since Buffy, what has he really done outside of England? Idris Elba (Prometheus, Thor) also has a role and of course it’s always a delight to see Christopher Lambert, The Highlander! He tends to do French films these days which is a shame, it was like his death in Highlander: Endgame really was the death of Lambert’s acting career. Not that he has much of one anyway.

 

Overall Rating; Nicolas Cage I guess does the best with what he’s given but the first film was so much better than this and whoever directed this trash *looks* Neveldine/Taylor who did the Crank films and Jonah Hex, probably should never direct anything ever again. The CGI was tacky and disjointed, the story was weak and pathetic, the actors weren’t interested or convincing and any film that I actually can’t bear to finish watching doesn’t deserve a rating, I mean for crying out loud, I managed to sit through Meet The Spartans which is now the second worst movie I’ve ever watched. Do NOT do a third Cage, I’m rooting for you. 0/10

7 Comments to “The Dark Globe – Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance… In Review”

  1. Ha, the Previews were terrible for this, but I didn’t know that it would be even worse than it appeared to be… I haven’t seen it, but I’m not sure that I will now, Lol

    DarkJade-

  2. What’s old Nicky Cage doing, eh? I mean, I realise he could never, ever, even if he lived to be 434, live up to the utter majesty that was The Rock, but he could’ve tried harder than this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

