Book Review: Storm

by quillwielder

image

I told myself I wasn’t going to read while I edited my novel but I couldn’t say no to Brigid Kemmerer’s Storm.

I read as soon as I awoke and couldn’t stop until I finished at 11:30pm that night. I was completely hooked.

Synopsis:
Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread lies about her, Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys—the ones she doesn’t want. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Waydifferent: he can control water—just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

When Hunter, the mysterious new kid in town, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all…

Review:
Aren’t you hooked already?

I am a huge paranormal romance fan and when I started reading Storm I was pleased to find it was different from other novels of the same genre. I am a sucker for the elements. It’s one of my favourite things to read and write about. Kemmerer puts a lovely new spin on the elemental world with danger and communities.

Becca is a great protagonist -strong willed, mysterious, engaging – I simply love the way Kemmerer sets up so much mystery behind Becca’s past.

This theme continues with the other protagonist Chris and his gorgeous brothers -Michael, Gabriel and Nick. (I’m totally team Nick. He’s my favourite). You have just got to love a book with four hotties who are also brothers.

I love the way the brothers interact, exactly how siblings should. They fight, argue, stand up for each other. You can just feel the bond they share even before the elements come into play.

I’m not usually a fan of love triangles unless they are done well and Kemmerer does it well here. Becca is interested in Hunter and Chris, but they are completely different offering her different things that she wants. It’s a subtle triangle because Becca doesn’t recognised her feelings for Chris as much. It’s not in your face, but a tool for the story, which I like.

The story itself is one that hooks you in right tree away. It’s starts with a grand action opening that sets the tone for the rest of the novel. I love the way she plants little hints about the characters secrets, very subtle and well done. I could not put this book down. The journey for these characters, the mystery, the supernatural world…it’s just amazing how it all first in together.

Overall this is definitely one worth reading. And as an added bonus Kemmerer has written two novellas between each novel. The first novella is called Elemental, then this book Storm , followed by another novella called Fearless. The next full length novel in the series is Spark which comes out late August.

2 Responses to “Book Review: Storm”

  1. I like your review and completely agree with you. It’s a great book to read and I’m completely hooked too ;)
    I’m also on team Nick, especially after reading Elemental and reading how that story ended. I can’t wait to read his story!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,452 other followers

