Five Films To Watch In The Next Year

by 'Ard Pete

The film watching continues, I think I’m on a Sean Bean kick right now after leaving John Cusack behind. If you’ve never seen Sean Bean, you need to watch a film he recently did called “Ca$h”, he plays a classic Yorkshire man in the middle of America, such a contrast but so, so funny. I’ll be sure to do a review of it soon, but just sexist phrases like “Lesleh, why doh-n’t you slip int’ kitchen and cook us a meal… Go on.”

And this scene, is just an example of how awesome Sean Bean is:

Sean Bean is just ‘Ard through and through, no wonder as he was born 20 minutes away from my house.

Anyway what I’ve been seeing lately is a lot of trailers for upcoming films and whatnot and I thought I’d list five films I really want to see, being single you don’t get to go to the cinema as much, because there’s nothing sadder than being sat on your own in a movie theatre. Who do you talk to about the film after it’s finished? Yourself?! You’d just look plain crazy.

THE EXPENDABLES 2

When watching action films in the 80s and 90s you’d always wish you could see your favourite action stars in a film together, for a long time people have clamoured for a scene between Bruce Willis, Arnie and Stallone and we got that with the first Expendables film. The main focus of this film isn’t story, plot or anything like that, it’s getting the biggest action stars ever and put them all into one film, then just add a lot of explosions. I’m exactly the type of person this films aimed at, but it’s also about giving some of the guys that may have fallen from grace a second chance or one last go at making a big time movie. The cast list is impressive, just reading it makes me mark out. Sly Stallone, Bruce Willis, Jet Li, Jason Statham, Chuck Norris, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Terry Crews, Randy Couture and Dolph Lundgren. I am excited and I love Van Damme, especially when I saw a documentary about him a couple of years ago how he got emotional because he couldn’t get movie roles he wanted anymore. It was a shame to see, hopefully this turns things around for him. You should see a film called JCVD, almost running alongside Van Damme’s real life. If this does well, and a third is made, Wesley Snipes should be out of prison in time for that.

TAKEN 2

It’s hard to deny that Liam Neeson is a badass, even at his age. The first film was about some human traffickers taking his daughter and trying to flog her on to some perverts. Not knowing that Neeson was an insane killing machine. He gave us the classic line, “I look for you, I will find you… And I will kill you. And you know what? He wasn’t lying. I never expected a sequel to come out but the general consensus these days is if it performs well, find a way to bleed it dry. Thus this time the person he threatened to kill over the phone has a very vengeful father who takes his wife hostage, cue more explosions and badassary from Liam.

ALEX CROSS

While the art of coming up with original ideas seems to be fading as time goes on, hense all the influx of comic book movies, people are now turning more to thriller novels it seems as James Patterson’s Alex Cross and Lee Child’s Jack Reacher are both getting the nod, sure Alex Cross films have been made previously with Morgan Freeman playing the lead role. This time the lead is played by Tyler Perry, someone who I’ve never heard of and has mainly only starred in things he’s produced himself. This film could be a great lauching pad for him to get into mainstream. However he’s not the reason why I’m excited to see it. This’ll be Matthew Fox’s first gig since Lost ended and from looking at the trailer… wow. We’re used to seeing the kind hearted, do anything as long as it’s right Jack Sheppard, looking at this trailer, he’s a bald, sadistic psychopath with no body fat what-so-ever. His character looks immense and I can’t wait to see him in something other than him pining over Kate all the frickin time.

THE DARK KNIGHT RISES

Yeah yeah, I know this film is already out but I haven’t had chance to watch it yet. I’m probably going to see it at an IMAX theatre at some point this week, maybe even today… I’ve watched every Batman film ever been done so far, people hated Robin from the previous set of films, but at the time I loved it. Every time the series gets a reboot it just seems to keep getting better and Batman Begins and The Dark Knight have probably been the best Batman films ever so far. Christopher Nolan has done his job well as has Christian Bale. Even though his voice sounds like a bag of marbles he’s still the best Batman (aside from Adam West obvs). I loved the second film with the late great Heath Ledgers performance as the Joker, it makes me wonder how different this film would be if Heath was still alive. Tom Hardy playing Bane I think is a terrific choice, every film I’ve seen him in I’ve loved his character, whether it was Star Trek: Nemesis, Inception or the most recent Warrior, this man can pull it off and I can’t wait to see what he does.

MAN OF STEEL

I really wasn’t sure about this film, I liked Brandon Routh in his Superman Returns role, so to reboot it yet again… Though I suppose we must learn that these superhero movies have to be told from other peoples perspectives. Who doesn’t love Superman? I remember watching the New Adventures of Lois and Clark with Dean Cain, I loved Smallville, the original movies, but not Supergirl! NO! Man Of Steel looks promising because I don’t know if I’ve ever seen such a star studded cast for a Superman film before. Michael Shannon playing General Zod, who you might know from Boardwalk Empire, he’s been doing very well recently. Russell Crowe (of all people!) playing Jor-El, Kevin Costner playing Jonathan Kent, Amy Adams as Lois, Laurence Fishburne, Christopher Meloni, Diane Lane and of course, Henry Cavill, the first English actor to play Superman, the third Englishman after Christian Bale and Andrew Garfield to play a hollywood superhero, so no doubt he’s going to do us proud. You may have seen him in The Tudors, he certainly has the look to pull it off. I want to watch this now! Why do I have to wait for a whole year for it to come out? Not fair.

7 Comments to “Five Films To Watch In The Next Year”

  1. Batman was pretty good, although whenever Bruce Wayne puts his mask on his voice mysteriously changes into ‘Gruff-Guy Mode’ which got a little difficult to understand after a while…

    Bruce Wayne as Bruce Wayne: ‘Hello, my name is Bruce Wayne’

    Bruce Wayne as Batman: ‘Hello, my name is BHHUURRRTMHUURRRN’

    • Haha he has a voice like a bag of marbles :D just been to see it, between him and Bane’s dodgy mask it’s a wonder how they even communicated. I think I’ll do the Batman voice at my next interview.

      “Hi, lovely to see you, what’s your name?”
      “I’M PEEEEETUUUUURRRRRRRR HOWURRRRTTHHHHHH”

  2. “Man of Steel” should be interesting… I’ll have to check out some of these others

    DJ-

  3. Dark Knight Rises is probably the only one I will see. I think I’ll probably even wait until it comes out on DVD.

    I don’t know if I trust James Patterson books to translate into a movie. Unless there is a line where someone says to Alex Cross “Don’t get cross with me!” then he turns to the camera and winks I will probably skip it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,454 other followers

