The Dark Globe Forums

by 'Ard Pete

You’ll notice if you go to the WordPress forums that there are no longer Off-Topic or Showcase forums, meaning they have effectively killed off their community.

While the real reasons behind this remain unknown, they’ve cited wanting more activity for peoples blogs as the “offical” reason. However what they don’t understand is most of the people I’ve met through WordPress has been through those forums.

It’s great for starters to showcase their blog, I know without those forums Dark Globe wouldn’t exist, I personally wouldn’t have a readership on my own blog or forge the relationships I have with the people that also use this site.

First, we’ll be removing the Off Topic and Showcase forums. Many of the posts in Off Topic could have been blog posts. In place of that forum we’d encourage everyone to write postsfollow your friends, and carry on the conversation through comments.

Yeah great stuff, although we won’t have any friends because there’ll be no Off Topic or Showcase forums for us to meet any. Then they tell us to look here for more Traffic which also doesn’t work if you’re unable to meet anyone. A lot of us don’t want our real life friends reading our blog. A lot of us don’t want to troll through endless tag pages to find anything interesting.

Needlessly to say, it was a very poor decision and it’s almost like WordPress hate their users and obviously have zero respect for us considering they just made this change out of the blue. Deleting older topics that go back 6 years would have been better than just deleting everything.

Anyway, it seems to me like an excellent time to reintroduce The Dark Globe Forums, we tried introducing it earlier this year although it didn’t really take off, mainly due to us already having WordPress forums to visit.

But hopefully we’ll be able to create a community, if you want to pass on the link to the forums to your followers and get the word out there that’d be great. WordPress seem to have lost touch with reality, people enjoy group discussions, people like to air their frustrations, advertise their work, etc. This is a place for us to do that.

So if you haven’t already signed up, sign up, post, discuss, enjoy!

Peace.

 

The Dark Globe Forums

19 Responses to “The Dark Globe Forums”

  1. Hi, Pete. I have been off the radar for awhile due to an intense schedule at work. . .but this is news to me. Sorry to hear that. :( Peace to you too though. :)

    • Wondered where you’ve been! I know what it feels like for work to take over though so worry not, we’ll be here when you’re able to return :D

      • I hadn’t really checked this out yet. . .posts before forums. ..but you know. . now i can’t find them at all anymore. Not even the site advice stuff. . .I used to find them fairly quickly. Too bad they are killing em off. We did indeed build community there. Will have to check out the Dark Globe forums now, I guess. :) So glad I saw this post! Glad I’ve subscribed or I’d have been completely lost!

  2. Great idea! I can’t believe WordPress killed off two of their most popular forums. I loved the community there and found lots of new blogs I never would have found otherwise. People also found my blog because of the Showcase. Sigh. WordPress is just being difficult.

    • I know, same here! There’s obviously going to be other reasons why they’ve done it, because if it’s simply for the reasons they’ve stated then they need to have their head checked. We’ll all have to find Mullenwig on Twitter and tell him to bring them back.

  3. Unbelievable, Thanks for Posting this Pete

    DJ-

  4. I was wondering what happened. I thought I was blocked for some unknown reason. It’s hard to even find new blogs with the search features they have up there now. I guess they would rather have a million people ask them “How do I get people to read my blog?” 100 times a day than see where a random conversation leads to.

    • “Tell people in your social networks”
      What about people that already blog at WordPress and are interested in such things?

      “Make your content visible to search engines”
      It already is, and sure I get a lot of views but do they comment and discuss? No they don’t.

      “Pay for traffic to your site”
      LOL.

      “Bug your real-life friends”
      And supposing we don’t want our real life friends included in our WordPress community?

      “Use appropriate tags”
      No one uses the tag search function, it doesn’t work properly.

      “Read and comment on other blogs”
      Where do we find these other blogs? Because I’m sure as hell not visiting the blogs that are only Freshly Pressed when 99% of them are a pile of shit.

      And the list goes on to uselessness. There’s no sense of community in that, no where for us to just shoot the shit. I felt like just deleting my blog today and going elsewhere/retire.

      • Hopefully they see how insane they are and change their minds. Every website needs some place where members can congregate. We don’t need much. It seems like it’s down to finding new blogs based on followers of followers. It’s like only being able to get set up on dates with people your coworkers know. It’s mad.

        • Timethief suggested that there are plenty of forums on the internet where we can congregate, but the point is, Off-Topic was OUR place to congregate. We should get a petition started, but then again, how would we advertise it hah

      • I also hate the tips the “experts” always give on marketing. They’re all common sense. Be as visible as possible and stuff we already know. It’s the same things you would do to meet people in real life for the most part. How about providing something new?

  5. WordPress sucks! I’ve always been there on Off topic and loved to comment, read what other people are posting and interacting with a community. They are doing this for the sake of promotion of wordpress (In fact fake promotion). I’m going to start a protest against it.

  6. It’s a shame, they should have asked the users first…

  7. It’s a shame, they should have asked the users first…

    In Richard’s words “This is not a democracy”.
    I posted a protest about it on my blog. http://itspak.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/thats-too-much-wordpress/

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,453 other followers

