My Name is Memory

by Shannon

My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares

Daniel has spent centuries falling in love with the same girl. Life after life, crossing continents and dynasties, he and Sophia (despite her changing name and form) have been drawn together-and he remembers it all. For all the times that he and Sophia have been connected throughout history, they have also been torn painfully, fatally, apart.

But just when Sophia (now “Lucy” in the present) finally awakens to the secret of their shared past, the mysterious force that has always separated them reappears. Ultimately, they must come to understand what stands in the way of their love if they are ever to spend a lifetime together.

I’m a big fan of Brashares’s Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series. I picked this book up at the airport last summer. Of course at the time, I was very happily in a relationship. By the time I read this book, I was single again. I’m not really sure if that fact affected by reading experience, but there it is.

This book is pretty standard Brashares–easy to read, accessible, beautiful, and heartbreaking. Unfortunately for me, this book had a large dose of the heartbreaking. I had a difficult time reading this book because it just made me sad whenever I did. It’s essentially about two people who are destined to be together who keep getting separated across the cycles of their lives (what’s up reincarnation). And it just comes off so sad. These two are like freakin’ never happy.

This book is told from several different viewpoints, primarily the Daniel and the Lucy viewpoints. I liked the Daniel parts the best I think, when he talks about all the other times he knew Lucy in her past lives and how he literally spent hundreds of years looking for her. As in this review of The Years of Rice and Salt, this book proposes some interesting thoughts about reincarnation, especially about the concept of souls seeming to travel together in groups. I quite like that idea, that the essence of people is something so strong that it guides them back together in one life after another.

Apparently this book is the first in a planned trilogy. I really don’t think I’ll read the rest. There wasn’t really much wrong with this book other than that it was so sad I had a difficult time with it.

Have any of you read it? What did you think?

5 Responses to “My Name is Memory”

  1. The Souls traveling in Groups is an interesting idea, too bad about all the sadness, Lol

    Oh well, that must have been tough to get through.

    Nice Review Shannon

    DarkJade-

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,451 other followers

