9 Things I Learnt from the Titanic | Part 1

by Beautiful Rumi

%Painting of Rose done by Jack in The Titanic

Which is the most romantic story you have heard of?

Are you moved to tears by a beautiful love story?

If you are like me, the love story in Titanic the movie is one of the best love story ever. Accompany that with Celine Dion enchanting song, “My Heart Will Go On.” And you have a story that literally makes you shed tears and makes you believe in the power of love again.

The first time I watched the Titanic, my heart broke in so many pieces I couldn’t believe it. I was a young girl then, and those days I didn’t know that movie actors didn’t die for real in real life. Well, what can I say, I was pretty naive and I did hurt for a whole week because Jack gave up his chance for life for his love Rose. Celine’s song played in my head for such a long time. My red teary eyes at that time, told the whole story.

Nowadays, when I watch the movie. (I can’t help myself) My heart aches when Rose happily tells Jack, “When we dock, I will go with you.” It still hurts knowing, that only one lovebird actually made it to shore. This makes me appreciate the present moment with loved ones even more.

Being a great fan of this beautiful love story, I have learnt a couple of great life lessons that I would love to share with you.

1. Life goes on

Celine Dion sings it so well and I do tend to agree with her. Life is full of ups and downs. Sometimes, our vision is not clear enough to let us know if the bend ahead of the road is a death trap or a bridge to better things.

When life suddenly blindsides you and you feel like throwing your hands in the air and giving up. Don’t! The good and bad things all pass. Everything in life goes on. It’s the order of life. Let it be. Just like Rose, pay the past a short visit, but remember… to let it be.

2. Always Listen To Your Heart

You are born in a society that has preconceived ideas, laws and ways of life. Deterring from this perfect order of things does brand you a rebel. I love how Rose listened to her heart and gave Jack a not at all rich guy a chance.

Just because society frowns on rich and poor people being together. Among other things, does not mean, you should also follow suit. Listen to your heart and dance to the  music of your heart. You never know how long your “Jack” in your life is supposed to be with you.

3. Drop  People Who Bring You Down

It’s commonly accepted that we can never choose our families or the places that we are born to. Friends on the other hand, we have free will to choose. Well, I disagree. Any person who brings you down, be it a friend or a blood relative should be dropped from your life.

I greatly admire Jen for telling the story of how she fired her father. It takes a lot of guts to do that. Rose in the Titanic,(one of my many favorite parts) dropped her unworthy suitor for Jack. Making life commitments with some people is the same like going for a life sentence in jail. Don’t do it to your yourself.

If you were Rose and knew that Jack would die on sea, would you still fall in love with him?

Some of the greatest love stories will always stay alive in our hearts. Teaching us lessons only they can…

14 Responses to “9 Things I Learnt from the Titanic | Part 1”

  1. I love movies that make me have those feelings! Like Armageddon, I always cry in that one too! I fell in love once with a rebellious boy no one thought I should care for. Our lives took different paths, but many years later, he found me on Facebook just to tell me it was my love he had spent his entire life trying to deserve. WOW! He told me that a year ago, and it’s still has me twisted inside! Following your heart is the only way to go………

    • Ooh my, Tiffany the Armageddon I too cried so much, the theme song made the tears drop faster. What a sweet love story you have shared. If your paths were meant to meet and be together even at old age..he will still find you ;) I used to watch the show “It’s a miracle by Melissa E.” and the love stories of lovers meeting after many years always touched my heart. Love always finds a way…always. And movies that remind us of this beautiful truth live on for a long long while….

  2. “Romeo & Juliet” and “Moulon Rouge” are the one’s that Break My Heart

    Lovely Post Vee

    DarkJade-

  3. Yes, I’d still fall in love with Jack, if I was Rose and knew that was was going to die, because the heart wants what the heart wants, and turning it off is doing an injustice to yourself.
    Great post. :)

    • I like how you have said it Jodie, “the heart wants what the heart wants” guess it’s true when they say it’s better to have loved and lost than not to have loved at all :) Thanks for reblogging girl, I really appreciate.

  4. Reblogged this on Jodie's Journey and commented:
    I thought this was nicely written, and wanted to share. :) Enjoy
    Jodie

  5. Very well written :) thank you for sharing :)

  6. Since I watched the movie about 8 years ago or so, I couldn’t look at it again because I don’t think my heart could take such a beating again, really. Love, it happens to anyone, rich or poor or to the ones in between, and as for dropping people who bring you down, yep, it’s not easy, however if one truly wants to be happy it has to be done. Listening to your heart isn’t any less difficult but anything really worth it is rarely easy.
    Lovely post :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,451 other followers

