Movie Review: Batman – The Dark Knight Rises

by paigeaddams

Ff6relmart.jpg  Hello all! Prepare yourselves for a whole slew of movie reviews! 🙂 Four, to be exact. I recently had a couple movie nights with some friends and family, and I’ve got some fun stuff to share with you all. Stay tuned to see which movie receives my dreaded Emergency Cake rating. 🙂 First on the list: Batman – The Dark Knight Rises.

  Starring: Christian Bale (Bruce Wayne/Batman), Michael Caine (Alfred), Gary Oldman (Commissioner Gordon), Anne Hathaway (Selina Kyle/Catwoman), Tom Hardy (Bane), Marion Cotillard (Miranda Tate), Joseph Gordon-Levitt (John Blake), Morgan Freeman (Lucius Fox)

Plot (taken from Yahoo):

“It has been eight years since Batman vanished into the night, turning, in that instant, from hero to fugitive. Assuming the blame for the death of D.A. Harvey Dent, the Dark Knight sacrificed everything for what he and Commissioner Gordon both hoped was the greater good. For a time the lie worked, as criminal activity in Gotham City was crushed under the weight of the anti-crime Dent Act.

But everything will change with the arrival of a cunning cat burglar with a mysterious agenda. Far more dangerous, however, is the emergence of Bane, a masked terrorist whose ruthless plans for Gotham drive Bruce out of his self-imposed exile. But even if he dons the cape and cowl again, Batman may be no match for Bane.”

Characters:

Christian Bale (Bruce Wayne/Batman) plays a fantastic Batman. He brings some serious darkness into the role, and you can really tell Bruce has been mourning. It’s kind of great to see him slowly come back to life through the course of the movie. The only draw-back, for me at least, was the “bat-voice.” We’ll get to that in a minute. 🙂

Michael Caine (Alfred) is, as always, epic. No matter which version of Batman I watch, I always love Alfred. I love how he looks out for Bruce, kind of like his own son. There’s a moment where he kind of made me cry at the end. You’ll see what I mean.

Gary Oldman (Commissioner Gordon) plays a great character that I was really sympathetic towards. He’s in a tough situation after the second movie, and it only gets worse in this one. He’s trying to do what’s best for the people, but he’s definitely torn.

Anne Hathaway (Selina Kyle/Catwoman) is an epic Catwoman. I love how flawed and jaded she is, and in general just awesome. I also love that there’s growth in her character.

Tom Hardy (Bane) plays an awesome villain. I’ve heard people say that they didn’t like his voice or accent, but I actually really did. For me, it kind of added to how intimidating he was. I kind of loved that he’s not fazed by anything. He just seemed like this unmovable power-house, and he was always, always a step ahead. For all you gamers out there, he’s like the ultimate tank! And I have to admit there is one moment – just one very short moment – where I was sympathetic to him. You’ll know it when you see it. Even though he’s a ruthless killer, I really thought it was cool because it showed a surprising side to him and an insight into his past.

Marion Cotillard (Miranda Tate) played a character that I greatly underestimated. My husband read the comics, but I never did. To avoid spoilers, that’s all I’m going to say. 🙂 Very cool, and very well done.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt (John Blake) plays a police officer who is trying to help Batman, and believes in him when no one else really does. He’s a smart character, and complicated. I don’t want to say too much more about this character, because I try to stay away from spoilers as much as possible, and I can’t safely say much without giving something away. 🙂 This actor is very quickly growing on me.

Morgan Freeman (Lucius Fox) is also, as always, epic. Love him in whatever he’s in. This character is always calm and collected, even under pressure.

The Dark Knight Rises Widescreen Wallpaper

Review:

I’m writing this from the aspect of someone with a huge superhero bias. I *love* movies like this, and Batman is an old favorite.

This version of Batman (the previous two movies included) is much darker, and it really drew me in. And as a character, this Bruce Wayne probably made me the most sympathetic. I could see the struggle in him through these movies, and this last installment was no exception.

"the dark knight rises poster"

The story had me hooked the whole time. Most of that had to do with the depth of the characters, but it was also the way they tied things in from the first two movies.

The action and special effects were awesome, as always. And I loved some of the new toys for Batman, mainly the vehicles. Very cool.

Honestly, I could only find a couple little nit-picky things that I didn’t like. Well, it’s more like they confused me. That’s a better way to say it. I wasn’t actually disappointed by either of these things.

First, the time line was a little difficult for me to follow. This could just be me though. Until someone flat-out said “so many days have passed” or “it’s been eight years,” I was having trouble figuring out what time frame things were occurring in. That was a little distracting for me, but it didn’t really take anything away from the movie as a whole.

The second was slightly more distracting, but again, not a really a big deal. Now, don’t get me wrong.

  I love Christian Bale.

  I love Batman.

  I love the two together.

That being said, I did *not* love it when Christian Bale adopted his new ‘bat-voice.’ I kept thinking that it sounded rather like he was having a potty emergency in his bat-suit, and there was no zipper so he had to hold it whenever he suited up.

I love you Batman – but it had to be said. Make the creepy Peptobismol commercial voice stop. If Clark Kent can get away with the old glasses on and off trick, you can keep your everyday voice. I promise. No one will notice. You even have the added benefit of a mask.

Okay, I’m done with my completely random ‘bat-voice’ rant. I feel much better now. 🙂

I did love the ending. It surprised me for two reasons. First – again, they didn’t end it like I expected them to. And second – it was an ending. You’re left with no question as to what happens to Bruce Wayne.

There are a couple more things I love about the ending – a moment with John Blake, and a separate moment with Alfred. The thing with John Blake is really cool, and brings a few questions to mind. But without Alfred, the ending would not have been the same.

Lol, hope that wasn’t too vague for you. 🙂

My rating for Batman – The Dark Knight Rises: Epic – This is now one of my favorite movies. Definitely check it out if you’re a fan of the previous two Batman movies, or a fan of Batman in general. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~

My rating system:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

7 Comments to “Movie Review: Batman – The Dark Knight Rises”

  1. Hmmm . . . you best avoid my review . . .

Leave a Reply

