Movie Review: Man On A Ledge

by paigeaddams
Celes Chere  Hello all, and welcome to my last review in this series of four! I figured I’d end on a lighter note, lol – Man On A Ledge! 🙂

"Man on a Ledge" Movie Poster at the "Man on a Ledge" Movie Posters  Starring: Sam Worthington (Nick Cassidy), Elizabeth Banks (Lydia Mercer), Jamie Bell (Joey Cassidy), Anthony Mackie (Mike Ackerman), Edward Burns (Jack Dougherty), Genesis Rodriguez (Angie), Kyra Sedgwick (Suzie Morales), Ed Harris (David Englander)

Plot (taken from Yahoo):

“Nick Cassidy makes a desperate and life-threatening move to prove his innocence after he is framed for the theft of a rare, prized diamond. Recently escaped from prison and with nowhere else to go, Nick climbs onto the ledge of a towering skyscraper, inviting the eyes of New York City to anxiously watch as one wrong step could mean plunging to his death. But as one police negotiator soon learns, Nick’s daredevil stunt, captivating the eyes of the public and media, masks a dangerous ploy to reveal the truth about his tarnished name. With the help of his brother and with the time running out, Nick’s intricate plan must work perfectly, but when you’re on the 25’th floor ledge of a building, going down takes on an entirely more hair-raising meaning.”

Characters:

Sam Worthington (Nick Cassidy) plays an ex-cop. I didn’t really think I’d love this character, but I do. He’s actually really cool, and very smart. You would think that in order to be the hero of the story, he would have to be doing more than just hanging out for most of the movie – but he doesn’t, and he pulls it off beautifully.

Elizabeth Banks (Lydia Mercer) plays the police negotiator, one of my favorite characters. She’s strong, and I love that she doesn’t back down, even though things are hard for her at the moment. Not many people are on her side in the beginning, but they need her – so it’s an uneasy truce.

Jamie Bell (Joey Cassidy) plays Nick’s brother. He’s an awesome character, and he makes me laugh most of the movie.

Anthony Mackie (Mike Ackerman) played an interesting character. He’s Nick’s ex-partner, and in the beginning I wasn’t surprised by the direction the story took him. At the end I was, however. 🙂

Edward Burns (Jack Dougherty) plays a cop who, at first, didn’t like Lydia too much. Or maybe just didn’t trust her? Either way, he plays a secondary character that I ended up liking.

Genesis Rodriguez (Angie) plays a character that I love. She’s kind of fantastic – a really interesting, and surprising, kind of character. And she makes me laugh.

Kyra Sedgwick (Suzie Morales) plays a reporter. She kind of just watches things unfold and comments on it. She also gives Lydia Anderson a hard time too.

Ed Harris (David Englander) plays a great villain. He’s believable and intimidating, and I definitely wanted to see him get knocked down a notch or several by the end of the movie.

Review:

This is another movie that I was surprised by. I was wondering, going into this, how they were going to pull this off.

Which translates into – how much of the movie am I going to be *watching* a guy just hang out on a ledge all day?

There had better be some epic proportion, universe changing dialogue happening on that ledge… -.-

And that’s about when it starts getting fun. 🙂

While everybody is looking at Nick, Joey and Angie are across the street trying to get evidence to prove his innocence. Very cool. And in some spots kind of hilarious.

Honestly, most of the action towards the beginning and middle is with Joey and Angie as they break into this high security building. It does seem just a tad convenient that they’re so skilled. And a lot more than a tad convenient that Angie has a background as a delinquent youth who used to break into high security houses of the rich and famous.

But it’s still a lot of fun to watch. 🙂

The growing trust between Nick and Lydia as the movie progresses added a lot to the story line, I think. She’s the first one to figure out he’s up to something, and also the first one to question his real motives – or to even look at his motives period. And I thought it was kind of cool that he was counting on that, and chose to take a chance on her.

The relationship between Joey and Angie is also a lot of fun to watch, but for a different reason. They’re constantly bickering with each other. It seems so out of place and light-hearted compared to what they’re doing at the same time. It’s kind of silly, and that makes it perfect mixed in with the suspense. A nice break in the tension every now and then.

I also thought the level of planning that went into what they were doing was pretty awesome. Nick prepared for everything, and was constantly finding ways to keep everyone’s eyes on him.

I really liked the ending too. It wasn’t a surprising ending, but it was fun and uplifting and cute in some places.

A breath of fresh air after Sleeping Beauty – for which I am eternally grateful, because I’m out of cake. 🙂

My rating for Man On A Ledge: almost Cash-Worthy – This one surprised me with how good it turned out to be. I didn’t think it would be as exciting as it was, or as entertaining, but you may want to rent it first to be safe. It was silly and way too convenient at several points, but still worth checking out I think. Try it out if you like movies like The Fugitive or The Net or suspense in general, and don’t mind it being a little unbelievable and silly.

~~~~~~~~~~

My rating system:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

