Movie Review: Premium Rush

by paigeaddams

  Hello all, and welcome to my second movie review in this series of four – Premium Rush! 🙂

premium-rush-poster.jpeg  Starring: Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Wilee), Dania Ramirez (Vanessa), Michael Shannon (Bobby Monday), Jamie Chung (Nima), Wole Parks (Manny)

Plot (taken from Yahoo):

“Dodging speeding cars, crazed cabbies, open doors, and eight million cranky pedestrians is all in a day’s work for Wilee, the best of New York’s agile and aggressive bicycle messengers. It takes a special breed to ride the fixie — super lightweight, single-gear bikes with no brakes and riders who are equal part skilled cyclists and suicidal nutcases who risk becoming a smear on the pavement every time they head into traffic.

But a guy who’s used to putting his life on the line is about to get more than even he is used to when a routine delivery turns into a life or death chase through the streets of Manhattan. When Wilee picks up his last envelope of the day on a premium rush run, he discovers this package is different. This time, someone is actually trying to kill him.”

Characters:

Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Wilee) plays a cool character. He takes a lot of risks, and he really loves his job. It’s exciting to watch him throughout the movie.

Dania Ramirez (Vanessa) plays a tough character. I like her strength through the movie, and that, once she knows what’s going on, she doesn’t back down and she helps Wilee.

Michael Shannon (Bobby Monday) plays a great psycho. This guy has all kinds of issues. Part of it is his addiction, but I kind of think he’s also a bit of a sociopath in general. Some of his mannerisms freaked me out. He’s one scary dude.

Jamie Chung (Nima) plays a character that I’m really sympathetic towards. I like her a lot, and I was definitely rooting for her through the movie.

Wole Parks (Manny) plays a good secondary character that I kind of love to hate. He’s an annoying character, but he’s also fun to watch partly because of that.

Review:

At first, admittedly, I was a little concerned that this movie may not have much in the way of a story line. But I was pleasantly surprised.

It had an interesting plot, and as the movie went on I got more into it. They moved the time line all over the place to give more pieces of the story in between action scenes. And once I finally realized what it was all about, what Nima was trying to do, I was much more worried about how things would turn out.

The action scenes were cool, and just fun to watch. I also liked that they showed Wilee planning out his route sometimes. There’s also one scene in particular where you get to see Wilee show off some of his moves. Very cool.

For me, this movie is just pure fun. Not like ‘ha-ha’ fun, more like ‘adrenaline’ fun – like The Transporter. If you want an edge of your seat, nail biting, thrill ride, this may fall just a little short of that. I wasn’t disappointed by that though. Most of the action is Wilee zipping in and out of traffic and trying to escape from Bobby Monday or this cop on a bicycle. There are also some fun scenes with Vanessa and Manny too.

Just a side note – I kind of love the cop on the bike that keeps chasing Wilee. He’s awesome. 🙂

The relationship between Wilee and Vanessa was also cool to watch. It wasn’t the main focus of the movie, but it was still interesting. I felt like some of the issues between them were unresolved, but it seemed like one of those ‘loving the person in spite of themselves’ kind of things, I guess? And Vanessa seemed to understand him a bit better at the end.

The ending was nicely done, and I liked it. This movie was kind of silly sometimes, and there’s a part at the end that feels a little too convenient, but don’t let that stop you. 🙂 It’s a good one, and worth watching.

My rating for Premium Rush: Somewhere between Meh and Cash-Worthy – It was good, and I did like it, but I’d say rent it first to be safe. Over all, this movie was fun. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~

My rating system:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

