Book Review: The Rise of Nine

by quillwielder

God I love this series with I Am Number Four and The Power of Six there is now the third instalment in the Lorian Legacies: The Rise of Nine. 

Until the day I met John Smith, Number Four, I’d been on the run alone, hiding and fighting to stay alive.

Together, we are much more powerful. But it could only last so long before we had to separate to find the others. . . .

I went to Spain to find Seven, and I found even more, including a tenth member of the Garde who escaped from Lorien alive. Ella is younger than the rest of us, but just as brave. Now we’re looking for the others—including John.

But so are they.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They caught me in New York—but I escaped.
I am Number Six. 
They want to finish what they started.

But they’ll have to fight us first.

Aren’t you just totally excited? I was surprised to find this book was out for some reason I thought it was out next year until I stumbled upon it in my local bookstore. I knew I had to have it and it immediately became the next on my reading list. The story continues straight after the events of The Power of Six the aliens from Lorian are still on the run from the evil Mogs, spit up and scattered around the world they need to bring themselves together to face the leader of the Mogs Setrákus Ra.

The point of views are split between John (Number Four), Six (Number Six) and Marina (Number Seven). I did sometimes have trouble at the start of chapters trying to figure out if Six or Marina was narrating, but it wasn’t a big problem. The story takes you all over the world and is full of Pitticus Lore’s usual action scenes where you wonder if these alien kids can survive.

I love the mystery of the book, there are so many questions that have been left open through the last two books, some of them we get answers to and then more questions pop up. It drives you though, that mystery of wanting… needing to find out the truth about the Lorian ancestors and the kids’ legacies. You really watch the characters grow in these books and not just Four and Six who have been in the story from the start, even Seven, Ten, Nine and Eight, they change as this story plays out. How could they not change with all the terrible things happening to them between being hunted by Mogs and the FBI, these character really learn they need to grow and get stronger.

I can’t wait for the next instalment in this series, just so I can find out all the secrets. I must know how it ends!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: