NANOWRIMO update # 2

by cobbies69

11th November 2012 Sunday...

Update # 2

A Little History first…

National Novel Writing Month (also known as NaNoWriMo  is an annual internet-based creative writing project which challenges participants to write 50,000 words of a new novel between November 1 and 30. Despite its name it accepts entries from around the world.

The project started in July 1999 with just 21 participants, but by the 2010 event over 200,000 people took part – writing a total of over 2.8 billion words. Freelance writer Chris Baty started the project in July 1999 with 21 participants in the San Francisco Bay area.

Writers wishing to participate first register on the project’s website, where they can post profiles and information about their novels, including synopsis and excerpts. Word counts are validated on the site, with writers submitting a copy of their novel for automatic counting. Municipal leaders and regional forums help connect local writers with one another for holding writing events and to provide encouragement.

There was also an associated script-writing challenge in April called Script Frenzy. This event was cancelled after its 2012 run due to declining participation.

Progress so far… word count as of Saturday night 21495.

Well guys and gals apart from my word count this week, which is pretty good and on track. It has been straight forward for me. All my ideas for the story line has worked well, and I personally believe that my writing is pretty good. I am not one to use fancy words or long words, some of the reason for this is BECAUSE I DON’T KNOW ANY.. There now you know but you already knew that any way did you not. I have stayed away from poetry, and most love and romance stories have some sort of poetry or music to enhance and dramatise a scene. Me, I am afraid not, well not yet anyway. I have used o variety or real talk, language and actions that I am pretty sure would be the real and true reactions of me and others in a similar position of loving someone.

I want to like many of us doing this project want to finish the story with the ultimate goal in mind of publishing a novel. Many people join a local region and do challenges with another area. Then there is also the Facebook pages linked to the regions. Many join these and give each other support over the pages. The two I have joined also do write ins, this is an agreed meeting place where writers meet and have writing afternoon. I do not attend them because it is not my thing, but reading all the Facebook comments it is a successful event. There is also the NANO website that has a facility called writing buddies. I have some but still not fully understand how this works.

=========================================================

My goal for next week is to achieve 35-38000 words.

Wish me luck and watch this space. Thank you.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

Also please visit me on Gerry;s Space.

http://cobbies69.wordpress.com/

7 Responses to “NANOWRIMO update # 2”

  1. Well you are certainly doing wonderfully well with your word count and meeting your goals. My kind Sir I continue to be impressed with you. The NANO challenge is beoming more inviting for 2013 with each post you write.

    I think big fancy words are over-rated in a charming love story.(in any piece of fiction) They have no place really, It’s the content of a story line, how it melds together, and its charachters that make the story, not vocabulary.

    • Thank you my lady, it is also a big to the support and encouragement I am getting from behind the scenes so to speak. This is a huge help, I dont feel quite on my own.. welcome and appreciated my lady 😉

  2. Continue going strong. As the Barefoot Baroness says, your experience is encouraging me to join in the challenge next year 🙂

  3. You are doing well, my brother. Wish I was as far along as you. Many things keep popping up, putting me farther and farther behind, but I have not given up. I will plan on getting up an extra hour early tomorrow morning, and then see if I can continue daily. I get 6 free hours to do some straight writing on Nov 16, so I’m looking forward to that. Keep up the good work. You will win this year, yet again! *squish* 😉

    • Carol go for it, I know we cannot all have the time, but i am sending you typing keyboard wishes and really hope you get there, thank you for your continued support and friendship..;)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

