NANOWRIMO update # 3

by cobbies69

18th November 2012 Sunday

                                                                                                         Update #3

A Little History first...

National Novel Writing Month (also known as NaNoWriMo  is an  annual internet-based creative writing project which challenges participants to write 50,000 words of a new novel between November 1 and 30. Despite its name it accepts entries from around the world.

The project started in July 1999 with just 21 participants, but by the 2010 event over 200,000 people took part – writing a total of over 2.8 billion words. Freelance writer Chris Baty started the project in July 1999 with 21 participants in the San Francisco Bay area.

Writers wishing to participate first register on the project’s website, where they can post profiles and information about their novels, including synopsis and excerpts. Word counts are validated on the site, with writers submitting a copy of their novel for automatic counting. Municipal leaders and regional forums help connect local writers with one another for holding writing events and to provide encouragement.

There was also an associated script-writing challenge in April called Script Frenzy. This event was cancelled after its 2012 run due to declining participation.

Progress so far… word count last Saturday was 21495. 

My new total for this week is 29158. a lot lower than I had expected.

Story so far…

I set myself a target last week, and I do think it was probably a little ambitious, and pushing it a little, but on my last report my writing was flowing well, I felt it would fairly easy task to reach my prediction. But famous last words, yes guys, it was not to be.

It all started well during the Monday, and the story line being exactly as I wanted, my fingers were hitting the right keys, and the numbers were rising well and my word count was being met. But Tuesday came and I hit a brick wall, and only managed a few hundred. I just could not connect. Do any of you writers get this feeling. The characters are your friends and you carry them through your story line and become part of you. But Tuesday this did not happen. Then came Wednesday and Thursday and again the words came out of the imagination and onto the key board and onto my screen. I managed to boost the word count, not as much as I thought, but still on course. Friday, lets say I want to forget, connecting to it was a no,no, not nano. For some reason it got to me this day and I was seriously low and was contemplating as to whether to continue. But the evening came and a few words came, and I got some words of wisdom from a very good friend who believes in my project.

My goal for next week is to achieve 38-40000 words.

Wish me luck and watch this space. Thank you.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/

Also please visit me on Gerry;s Space.

http://cobbies69.wordpress.com/

9 Comments to “NANOWRIMO update # 3”

  1. Perfect music to be reading your post by, so appropriate and what’s not to like about who is doing it?

    Writing what we know often can floods the senses.

    Hang in there My Kind Sir, You are doing an awe inspiring job in my mind. I should turn out a word count like that.
    ( Next year, Next year. )

  2. I wish you luck. May the muse stay with you.

  3. My kind Sir
    Next year, writing buddies.. its a date~

Leave a Reply

