Disperser, Week Eight – Yes, I’m still here

by disperser

The fourth installment of The Blood: Torin will go up in a moment.

I usually write these things by Sunday, and have them ready to go on Monday morning.  I do that because Monday is “my day”, and I want to make the most of it.

However, I’m on the road.  Plus, last week was a female canine of a week, and I got little done in the way of writing.  So, I was up until three in the (this) morning writing both parts four and five of Torin’s story.   I then wanted a chance to edit what I wrote, proof it, and see if it needed tweaking.  In there, we also went to the air and space museum, I interacted with relatives, and took care of necessities.  So here I am, mid-afternoon, and finally discharging my obligations to Legends Undying.  And happy to do so.

As a discovery(seat-of-the-pants, make-stuff-up-as-I-go, sit-write-and-hope-for-the-best) writer, I tend to do surprisingly little in way of revisions.  Spelling, word choice, and cleaning up extra adjectives . . . that’s the extent of my editing.

I then rely on the reader to say stuff like “Hey!!  You messed up here!!

Of course, they never do.  They just keep it to themselves, presumably to laugh behind my back!

To the best of my understanding, “behind my back“, in the strictest interpretation, would be, in fact, my front.   Seeing as no one ever laughs to my face, I assume my writing is flawless.  Or people are too stunned by my rugged bad looks to do anything but stare, agape.  Or, no one actually reads this stuff.

Whatever the reason, I get little feedback, so that affords me a certain amount of freedom.  I can write whatever I want, and worry little about it being cogent.  I just need to put down between 1,400 and 1,600 words, and write an intro for it.

Speaking of which, I think this one is long enough.

And now, onto The Blood: Torin, Part IV.

Leave a Reply

