It’s a New World…or is it?

by Lorna's Voice
I was ready, just in case. I mean, you never know, even if they said they did know. You know?

I was ready, just in case. I mean, you never know, even if they said they did know. You know?

Whew! It’s December 23rd and I’m still here. I’m guessing you are, too.

Don’t you hate it when you put all your eggs in those apocalyptical predictions that came from ancient dead people who might have been chummy with undocumented aliens of the Star Trek variety? And those predictions seem so credible because ancient-looking live people with doctorates in weird stuff like archaeology, astronomy, and cosmetology, um, oops, cosmology make documentaries for the History Channel that show why the world was going kaput! on 12/21/12. Those same ancient-looking experts will soon be appearing to use the same theories to explain why we were kaput-less. They may be stroking their beards a bit more this time, though–even the women.

I simply don't understand it. I have studied the Maya all of my life. well, at least since joining the circus after puberty struck like thunder. I have to find something to do during all that down-time between shows, so I study Mayan culture and do History Channel documentaries.

I simply don’t understand it. I have studied the Maya all of my life. well, at least since joining the circus after puberty struck like thunder. I have to find something to do during all that down-time between shows, so I study Mayan culture and do History Channel documentaries.

Anyway, we’re all still here. I hope that none of you did anything rash, thinking that 12/21/12 was going to be “IT.” Like buying that expensive, sexy gas-guzzling car you always wanted instead of driving that crappy ego-collapsing gas-guzzling minivan or blowing your heart-healthy diet. Well, these miscalculations can be easily reversed. It’s not like you told your boss or your mate, “Beep! Leave a message because I’m on a permanent vacation from you.”  That’s a boner that’s hard to reverse.

Hasta la vista, Baby!

Hasta la vista, Baby!

Let’s just hope that most of you were like me and always understood the Mayan Prophecy to be either:

  1. Legend
  2. Misunderstood

Legends are fun. They create a buzz and give people something to write about. But there’s enough crazy shizzle going on for real to be all buzzafied over and to write about.

 Who me? No. I'm not worried about the world ending. I figured it already did and this is the post-apocalyptic world. Isn't it. It sure feels like it.

Who me? No. I’m not worried about the world ending. I figured it already did and this is the post-apocalyptic world. Isn’t it. It sure feels like it.

I always understood the Mayan Prophecy to be misunderstood. That sounds confusing.

I never felt it was a doomsday prediction. I understood it to be a shift in our way of living. The question remains, however: what kind of shift?

It could be a seismic shift either one way or the other. It kind of depends...

It could be a seismic shift either one way or the other. It kind of depends…

Since were are humans, we have a choice. I feel like we have a chance to start behaving better–all of us. But, since we are human, we don’t have to.

I cling to the hope the we grab this opportunity, start paying attention and make an effort to be kind rather than callous. Ann Curry from NBC proposed that everyone engage in 26 acts of kindness in response to the Sandy Hook Elementary School Shootings. That’s a great start. But don’t stop at 26. How about everyday making a conscious choice to be kind rather than selfish, hurtful, angry, or whatever the opposite of kind would be in the situations in which you find yourself? Imagine what a different world this would be…

Yeah. Imagine that. Just by reaching out with an open hand and heart...

Yeah. Imagine that. Just by reaching out with an open hand and heart…

Then, those experts from the History Channel would be back on the air again saying, “Hey, maybe the Mayans were right! The world was we knew did end on 12/21/12. This new world is nothing like that old world.”

This post was supposed to focus on the new world being about dogs driving cars–you know, the animal shelter ad in New Zealand to show that you can teach an old dog new tricks, so adopt an older dog? I just thought it was a wonderful, funny, heart-warming story. Dogs driving cars. Humans helping animals. Kindness.

They as confident as my son ever did behind the wheel when learning to drive.

He looks as confident as my son ever did behind the wheel when learning to drive. And a lot happier.

Sorry. I kind of got off track. Maybe I didn’t. Maybe it just took me a while to get on track, which isn’t at all unusual for me…

I wish the best the each day has to offer and all the kindness in my heart to you. Just please take the kindness and share it. Not for me, but for you and for the next person.

Catch the sparkles of kindness and and a most wonderful holiday.

Catch the sparkles of kindness and a  enjoy most wonderful holiday.

9 Comments to “It’s a New World…or is it?”

  1. No worries. We stil have the prophecies of Nostradamus and the bible to keep the doomsday group buying underground shelters and stocking their shelves with canned foods. Doesn’t anyone understand that if it is the end of the world, then it is the end? All the canned beans in the world won’t change that.

    Until the next Doomsday…

    Tim

  2. This was brilliant – I think what the Mayans meant were that it’d just be a time for a new beginning, specifically their fourteenth calendar. Apparently, that means fire and brimstone will rain down on the earth in an apocolyptic fashion… yup, someone’s certainly misinterpreted this! Thank you for the added optimism at the end, too – great post, keep it up 🙂

  3. At least I waited until after the 21st to buy my new car. And I agree that this is the new world. But it basically is a new world every day if you look, learn, and listen. What? I can’t hear you!

  4. I couldn’t buy into the apocalyptic thing (none of them) but have hoped for a shift in consciousness which, I expect, will be a gradual, slow process, not an event. As you point out, we each need to do our part. Fun post with tons of insight.

  5. Thanks, Victoria. And you’re right. The shift will be gradual, not an event.

Leave a Reply

