23 Favorites

by Shannon

I celebrated my 23rd birthday this past week. And I’m celebrating with you by sharing a list of my 23 favorite novels of all-time. In no particular order, because it was hard enough culling just 23. For some of these, you’ll find reviews on my own blog. Others, you won’t because I need to re-read them.

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

2. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

3. The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

4. East of Eden by John Steinbeck

5. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

6. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbury

7. 1984 by George Orwell

8. The Road by Cormac McCarthy

9. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

11. Hyperion by Dan Simmons

12. Firebringer by David Clement Davies

13. The Passage by Justin Cronin

14. Plainsong by Kent Haruf

15. The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

16. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

17. The Idiot by Fyodor Doestoevsky

18. A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce

19. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

20. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

21. The Little Prince by Antoine de St.-Exupery

22. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

23. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

10 Responses to “23 Favorites”

  1. What are the chances I haven’t read any of them? Odd… 😦

  2. Oh geez, I’ve only read one of them. I’m a bad reader, clearly!

  3. same reaction as Michelle, lol, oh jeez i’ve only read one of them (The Little Prince by Antoine de St.-Exupery) and even not 1984 what a shame! lol

  4. Shannon I think you’ve revealed yourself as a reader (and lover) of obscure books – I got to #7 before seeing one that I’d read as well (although I wasn’t as much of a fan of 1984 as you).

    100 Years of Solitude is an all-time top-ten for me, and (more than) probably has the best end to any novel I’ve ever read.
    I think my list would have The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgsen Burgess for many of the same reasons yours has Firebringer on it.

    Have you read Middlesex? It’s another Eugenides novel, and I thought it was damn good.

  5. I loved “To kill the mockingbird”. I surely will check out some of your other suggestions! Happy belated Birthday 🙂

  6. This is the second time I’ve seen The Fault in our Stars mentioned recently. Perhaps it’s time to go and check it out 🙂

    Great list! …and happy 23rd birthday, though belated! 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

