The Future of Kodiak Rising

by TByrd

At this time I am halting the release of Kodiak Rising. Kodiak is in its beta reader phase. There are some issues that my beta readers have stumbled upon that need some attention.

Kodiak has been two year labor of love. It began in November 2011 as a NaNoWriMo project and has been a part of my life ever since. The original draft of Kodiak Rising was very different than than the one I have released to Legends. At the end of November, I took the month of December off. I returned to it in January 2012 and began the long process of editing.

In 2012, it went from the roughest or rough drafts to a nicely polished third draft that has been released here. But we’re still not quite finished.

The last round of editing was ruthless. Entire scenes and chapters were cut, scenes were reorganized, a prologe was added and the prophecy of An Ceann began development.

In August of 2012 I began the laborious task of writing the second part of Kodiak Rising. To my chagrin that first draft was almost totally scrapped. While I did win the camp NaNo challenge  that August, I came away with the draft that was so terrible I didn’t even want to look at it. This sent me back to part one. As a writer, I wanted to go back to my roots. At that time in August, Kodiak was in it’s second draft revision. I returned to Kodiak and simply read the story. Turning off my inner editor was hard, but I forced her away.

The following November, I took a second crack at Part Two. Again, I won the November NaNo challenge, getting my word count up to 60,000+ words. This second time around I found myself with a draft that I could work with. But I didn’t finish it. At 60K+ I took yet another break from Jake and his crew and rested. By Christmas I returned once again to Part One for the final final revision process. When it was done I selected a few trusted friends and colleges to read it and give me feedback.

Now, it’s time for me to return to Part Two and get to work. In the coming weeks and months I plan on finishing the draft and then returning to the beginning to work on the revision process.

When Kodiak first began I had considered making three parts, each their own book. What I learned through the process is that both part one and part two need to be published together in the same book. But even then, I won’t be done. I have a three book plan for this series. The series does not have a name yet.

I am considering self-publishing through Create Space, but that is a very long way off. If I continue on this time line, it will take a great deal of time for Kodiak to be ready. My goal in 2013 is to get part two up to the same third draft standard part one has reached.

As I go through this process, I’ll continue to update my readers on my own blog Brautigan’s Girl. With the new schedule at Brautigan’s Girl, I’ll be giving weekly updates on Kodiak’s process on Thursdays. I’m hoping that this gives me some accountability.

Next week I’ll be launghing a new long read that will be both here and on my personal blog on Fridays. I will also be re-launching Brautigan’s Girl on Monday. I must force myself to take writing more seriously if I want to finish Kodiak. These two blogs and http://www.750words.com are tools to help me get there.

Wish me luck!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Future of Kodiak Rising”

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

