Disperser, Week Nineteen – Preemptive Apology

by disperser

I have little concept of how my writing appears to others.

Some do tell me stuff, and most of it is helpful, but they seldom speak of the impression my writing makes.  Here’s the problem with that . . .

. . . these next chapters of The Fall of Angels I am about to post;  they flew out of my keyboard, and onto the screen.  True, they headed a different way than I had planned, and Joe and Lena got a bit more screen time than planned, but I immediately liked what I wrote.  That is somewhat unusual, but not unheard-of.  After all, I write for me first, and only after there’s a smidgen of hope someone else will like both What I Wrote, and How I Wrote it.

The problem is this . . . because I write for myself, my own sensibilities are reflected in the story.  Meaning, I don’t think about what the readers might experience . . . after all, they are like me, right?

Wrong, of course.

One of the things I did not foresee . . . let me rephrase that . . . I did not think through too well how the story would unfold.  Namely, because of the premise of the story, and because it is based on the Judeo-Christian myth, at some point Shadow, the hero, is going to confront The Christ, one of the bad guys.

Now, to me, that is just a plot device.  I see the story as just a story, borrowed from another story.  But for many, that dude is a big part of their lives.  They talk to him, they ask for advice, they ask for favors . . . and now they are likely asking him to smite me.

While not particularly worried about a fictional character smiting me, I do worry about people taking time out of their busy lives  to pray for smiting.  So, let me try to set your mind at ease.  I don’t come at this as a way to marginalize, or denigrate Christ.  Well, OK, in this story he is a nasty piece of work, but it’s fiction; please don’t waste your time asking him to smite me; for one, he’s probably busy, so the lack of response will just frustrate you.

Worse yet, if something did happen to me, you’d fret about whether you were responsible . . . nah, you probably wouldn’t, at that.

Some parting thoughts; if you chance upon this work, know you are part of a very small group.  Any action you might take to protest against this portrayal is likely to do little beyond getting me some publicity.  If you just let it be, 4-6 people will read it, and promptly forget about it.

Bitch loud enough, I I might get a Hollywood movie deal out of it.  It’s your choice.

5 Comments to “Disperser, Week Nineteen – Preemptive Apology”

  1. How can we (as writers) ever anticipate with any accuracy how our readers will react to out work. What I think is funny, they may think is not. When I man trying to be serious, they may laugh.

    The best we can do is put forth our best, most honest work, then let the the chips fall where they may.

    I have a problem of wanting everyone to love my work (a relic of my childhood), so this is much easier said than done. Bit facing my fears is the only way through them. I wish I had thicker skin, but I don’t, so I just have to trust that what I put out there is meant to be read and will do someone some good somewhere.

  2. I say you write what you enjoy writing. While you know me and I also think that you should keep your audience in mind, I think that if you worry if people aren’t going to like what you write then I say stop. Some of the best written word out there will polarize a mass of people into those who truly enjoy and those who truly loathe the work. But what those who loathe it don’t understand is that regardless of the negative aspect of their opinion the written work did bring about a massive response in them. And that is a sign of a great piece of work. Keep up the great work and by the way I have really enjoyed this story so far and I can’t wait to see where you are going with it.

  3. Thanks for the responses.

    Lest there’s any doubt, I don’t write to other people’s limits. The above was meant as a somewhat humorous (or so I had hoped) reminder of that. Maybe even to send a little jab at them who would take fiction, and try to shove it into the realities of the world.

    Still, there is no denying some of these concepts (obviously, not these exact ones) are very real to some people, and they may view this as sacrilegious, if not out-right blasphemous.

    Ultimately, the reason I included the above post is that I am a guest in this sandlot. Just as important, I don’t have a good feel for the sensibilities of the audience, fellow writers, or host.

  4. I can only speak for myself, but I’m a Christian and I’m not offended by what you’re writing. It’s a good story. Lol, it is a touchy scenario that you’ve taken on – but so was The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. That’s part of the beauty of being a writer, and especially a Fiction writer. You can build a world, and bend and shape it however you like. It will become whatever perspective you want to show. And why shouldn’t it reflect your sensibilities? Writing is a personal thing, in my opinion, so it should say a little something about you I think.

    Lol, don’t worry. I promise not to ask Him to smite you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

