Movie Review: Warm Bodies

by paigeaddams

  Hello all, and welcome to my second movie review in this set of two! 🙂 This time I’m reviewing Warm Bodies.

Warm Bodies Poster  Starring: Nicholas Hoult (R), Teresa Palmer (Julie), Rob Corddry (M), John Malkovich (General Grigio), Analeigh Tipton (Nora)

Plot (taken from Yahoo!):

“After a zombie epidemic, R (a highly unusual zombie) encounters Julie (a human survivor), and rescues her from a zombie attack. Julie sees that R is different from the other zombies, and as the two form a special relationship in their struggle for survival, R becomes increasingly more human – setting off an exciting, romantic, and often comical chain of events that begins to transform the other zombies and maybe even the whole lifeless world.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Nicholas Hoult (R) is awesome. Lol, I loved his character in this movie. He plays a very different kind of zombie than I’m used to seeing, for which I am grateful. Not that I dislike the usual formula, but I love the massive step outside the box that this one is. 🙂

Teresa Palmer (Julie) plays a good tough girl. She gets herself into trouble a lot though, lol.

Rob Corddry (M) is a fun secondary character. He has some great parts, lol. And again, I love the totally different kind of zombie he plays.

John Malkovich (General Grigio) is awesome. He’s one of those actors that I almost always love. He plays a kind of intense secondary character, with strong convictions.

Analeigh Tipton (Nora) is another fun secondary character. She’s good comic relief.

WARM BODIES Poster 01

Review:

So… here are four words I’m willing to bet you would *never* have put in once sentence together: Cute zombie romantic comedy.

Lol, okay – with that being said, you can’t take this one seriously either. Really, just go into it assuming it will make no real sense up against other zombie movies you’ve seen. Just throw the zombie rulebook out the window, lean back with some snacks, perhaps a beer (or two), and enjoy – because it’s kind of ridiculous in a wonderfully hilarious kind of way, and I totally loved it. 🙂

WARM BODIES Poster 02WARM BODIES Poster 03

Yep. It’s like that. 🙂

This movie is just fun. That’s the best way to describe it. Is it logical? Not in the slightest. But I don’t think they intended it to be.

There are so many places in this movie where hardcore zombie fans may have a problem – so if you watch this, know ahead of time that this blatantly ignores almost everything that makes a zombie a zombie, with very few exceptions.

There is the shambling and groaning and general gnawing of the living – mainly in the beginning. But from there they start taking liberties. There are two types of zombies – corpses and boneys/skeletons. Sort of like stage one and stage two of a virus. Corpses always eventually turn into boneys/skeletons after a while.

The stage one zombies still seem to retain some human-like characteristics and thoughts to a certain extent – one of the huge departures from traditional zombies this movie takes.

WARM BODIES Poster 04

Don’t ask me how this works, but it does.

Lol, this could also be argued as part of the problem with the movie though, for the hardcore zombie fans. Or fans of logic in general. 🙂 Biologically speaking, there are a lot of things that don’t make sense, especially in stage one. I won’t get into too much detail on that though, in case you want to see it. 🙂 I don’t want to ruin the fun.

I will say, however, that the change in the zombies seems to be based solely on warm fuzzies. Lol – I’m serious. Warm fuzzies. Just sit back with your beer and consider that for a moment. 🙂

To tell the honest and complete truth – I found this movie refreshing, mainly because of all the many ways it stands out from other zombie movies and books. I didn’t mind all the changes they made to the traditional zombie scenario.

And – huge bonus – it didn’t have the ending I’ve come to expect from zombie movies. It was actually – and here’s another word you’d never associate with a zombie movie, or ever really consider saying in the same sentence as ‘zombie’ – sweet. 🙂 This movie was actually sweet!

WARM BODIES Poster 05

My rating for Warm Bodies: Cash-Worthy, almost Epic solely based on originality and the fact that it hasn’t been done a million times. Lol, I’m definitely buying this when it comes out. It’s too much fun not to. 🙂 Check this one out if you liked Shaun of the Dead, or zombie movies in general and don’t mind them taking some really huge liberties with the well-known rules about zombies and what they do and don’t do. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

4 Responses to “Movie Review: Warm Bodies”

  1. I liked the trailer . . . this flew right by me, and was not aware of it. I won’t go to the theater to see it (no time), but it’s already on my Netflix queue.

    Thanks

  2. I can’t wait to see that movie! Looks so fun and awesome 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

