Movie Review: Pacific Rim

by paigeaddams

  Hello all, and welcome to my review of Pacific Rim! 🙂

pacific-rim-movie-poster  Starring: Charlie Hunnam (Raleigh Becket), Idris Elba (Stacker Pentecost), Rinko Kikuchi (Mako Mori), Charlie Day (Dr. Newton Geizler), Ron Perlman (Hannibal Chau), Robert Kazinsky (Chuck Hansen), Max Martini (Herc Hansen), Clifton Collins Jr. (Tendo Choi), Burn Gorman (Dr. Herman Gottlieb)

Plot (taken from Yahoo!):

“When legions of monstrous creatures, known as Kaiju, started rising from the sea, a war began that would take millions of lives and consume humanity’s resources for years on end. To combat the giant Kaiju, a special type of weapon was devised: massive robots, called Jaegers, which are controlled simultaneously by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. But even the Jaegers are proving nearly defenseless in the face of the relentless Kaiju. On the verge of defeat, the forces defending mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes – a washed up former pilot and an untested trainee – who are teamed to drive a legendary but seemingly obsolete Jaeger from the past. Together, they stand as mankind’s last hope against the mounting apocalypse.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Charlie Hunnam (Raleigh Becket) played a good hero. I really liked this character because he was human – easily relatable. And I liked his deeper backstory, which is always good in a main character. I get what he was fighting for.

Idris Elba (Stacker Pentecost) plays the fearless leader – and he plays it really well. Lol, I would not want to piss this guy off. He’s mastered looking intimidating in this role.

Rinko Kikuchi (Mako Mori) played a kick-ass female lead. I loved her. She was complicated, and I really liked her back-story. And she was tough – my favorite kind of heroine. 🙂

Charlie Day (Dr. Newton Geizler) played one of the two quirky doctors, always at odds with each other, for comic relief.

Ron Perlman (Hannibal Chau) is awesome, as always. Lol, I love this guy in pretty much everything he’s in. He’s just fun to watch no matter what. And his character is over the top in this, which is perfect, lol.

Robert Kazinsky (Chuck Hansen) played one of the other Jaeger pilots – at odds with Herc due to family issues. This character has a chip on his shoulder and needs a serious attitude adjustment, but I do like him in the end.

Max Martini (Herc Hansen) played one of the other Jaeger pilots – at odds with Chuck due to family issues. This character is older and wiser, and I like him because I can see that he regrets the rift between him and Chuck.

Clifton Collins Jr. (Tendo Choi) played a secondary character, mainly comic relief. Another fun character. 🙂

Burn Gorman (Dr. Herman Gottlieb) played the other of the two quirky doctors. These were fun characters.

Review:

I love this movie!

It has some Godzilla-like qualities, which is fun. And I think It may even have the voice actress that played Glados in the Portal games doing the mech system voice.

Epic.

I’m not 100% sure it was her, but it would be awesome if it was. 😀

And the battles were amazing! You know I love explosions and good fighting – and, for me, combining the two = awesomeness overload in my brain, and we have a potential geek-out on our hands.

Bear with me, lol. XD

The Kaiju and Jaegers were really well done. The way they moved and fought was smooth and, to me, seemed realistic. And it was exciting to see the different skills each Kaiju and Jaeger had – they all kind of had their own thing going.

I also thought it was really cool that everything had a heavy anime kind of feel. Which, if you enjoy anime, is totally awesome. It reminded me just a little bit of Evangelion and Blue Gender in theme – except that both of those animes are A LOT darker than this movie. A lot.

All of this awesome combined together to give both the Kaiju and Jaegers an impressive level of badassery that made me very, very happy. 😀

File:Pacific rim sydney battle.jpg

Bring. It.

Pacific Rim

Take that! Boo-yah! In yo’ face!

*cough, ahem*

However, in my opinion (take it with a big grain of salt), I felt like the plot was completely predictable. I managed to guess everything right except the ending (thank goodness – I would have had a bit of a “moment” otherwise). I don’t know if it’s because I’ve just seen a lot of movies like this one? Maybe the theme is just too familiar to me by now?

Don’t let that stop you from watching it though. It’s a really fun movie, despite that. And, like I said, at least it didn’t have the ending I was expecting.

The last movie I watched, similar to this one in the sense that it also reminded me of Godzilla and anime for some reason, was Dragon Wars (*shudder* …I still have nightmares… Emergency. Cake.), and I was SO afraid at one point that they were going to end this movie in a similar manner to that one. And I was about to have a “moment.” Nothing like my recent Star Trek “moment,” but still. It was about to happen.

Pacific Rim 1920x1080 Wallpaper # 8

My rating for Pacific Rim: Cash-Worthy – I loved this movie, even if it was predictable. It was fun, and there were cool monsters and mech, and the fighting was awesome, and there were explosions, and there was a little romance – what more could I ask for? Check this out if you like Kaiju movies or movies based on anime, or movies like Godzilla and Transformers in general. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

5 Comments to “Movie Review: Pacific Rim”

  1. Thanks for review! With all that the humand reace has done to the oceans, though, it might be fitting for something to pop up out of there to wipe them out!

  2. Good review Paige. Had a fun time with this one, even if I was a bit disappointed by how lame the characters were.

Leave a Reply

