Movie Review: The Heat

by paigeaddams

Fantasy - Women Warrior Wallpaper  Hello all, and welcome to my review of The Heat! 🙂

  Starring: Sandra Bullock (Sarah Ashburn), Melissa McCarthy (Shannon Mullins)

Plot (taken from Yahoo!):

“Uptight and straight-laced, FBI Special Agent Sarah Ashburn is a methodical investigator with a reputation for excellence – and hyper-arrogance. Shannon Mullins, one of Boston P.D.’s “finest,” is foul-mouthed and has a very short fuse, and uses her gut instinct and street smarts to catch the most elusive criminals. Neither has ever had a partner, or a friend for that matter. When these two wildly incompatible law officers join forces to bring down a ruthless drug lord, they become the last thing anyone expected: buddies.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Sandra Bullock (Sarah Ashburn) is awesome in this movie. I’m used to seeing her in other kinds of roles, and for some reason I have this idea of her in my head that’s all sweet and nice all the time. So it was hilarious to see her act in this kind of comedy. This character starts out pretty strict and rule-abiding, but loosens up a lot by the end of the movie, lol.

Melissa McCarthy (Shannon Mullins) cracks me up no matter what she does. I loved her character in this movie. Just the way she talks in every scene made me laugh. It was so over the top that it fit my mildly twisted sense of humor perfectly. 🙂 By the end, I wouldn’t say she’s really calmed down all that much, but some of Ashburn rubs off on her a little too.

Review:

Ok, please feel free to listen to this song (which is currently stuck in my head – damn you movie trailer, damn you) while you read. Lol, I listened to it while writing the whole thing. 🙂

Why must it be so catchy??

I don’t even get all the lyrics, but it doesn’t seem to matter. I’m still singing it under my breath (*cough, cough* I mean I would never do a full-on American Idol impression through the house *cough, cough*) and bobbing my head to the beat (*ahem* totally not busting a move *cough*) whenever I get up to refill my drink.

My husband is concerned.

Lol, good thing I live to shock and confuse him. I need to keep him on his toes, you know? 😀

Anywho… steering the topic away from my admittedly fierce moves, to what we’re supposed to be discussing —

Lol, as you all know, especially if you read my review of This Is The End, I am very picky about comedy. But I really enjoyed this one.

Both Ashburn and Mullins are a mess in their own ways – Ashburn is more awkward and uptight, and has a habit of belittling people without really realizing she’s doing it, and Mullins is crude and completely unafraid to say whatever pops into her head, and would probably put the smack down on anybody who had a problem with that – either way, they both tend to scare everybody else off. 🙂

I don’t know why, but there’s just something about characters that are a total mess. I kind of love them, no matter what type of movie I’m watching.

Lol, they’re kind of endearing to me for some reason.

I think my favorite part is towards the end of the movie – Ashburn loses her mind for a minute and lets some people know exactly what she thinks about them. This part really cracked me up because it was kind of awkward, and I think it was probably the first time in the movie I actually heard her cuss. The cussing itself wasn’t the funny part – it was more in how it was handled. 🙂 Lol, and the gesture that went with it through the glass.

Even though the plot follows a familiar formula – two polar opposites forced to work together, and then they end up learning from each other – I wasn’t bored. Lol, probably because this is a formula I usually like.

Especially when they also have such slick moves…

This was the best attempt at the characters drunkenly bonding

FIERCE!

I will be trying that the next time I go dancing. *mwa-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha* Be afraid. Be very afraid. It’s happening. XD

There were also some surprisingly touching moments in their growing friendship. I kind of love how they mess with each other through the whole beginning. It’s interesting and fun just to see them balance each other out a little over time.

And there’s even some kind of hilariously awkward romance thrown in there in a couple scenes, which you know I love. It’s not the main focus or anything, but it’s still entertaining. 🙂

My rating for The Heat: Cash-Worthy – Honestly, this movie was just fun. It’s cute, light-hearted, and just an enjoyable movie over all. Depending on what kind of comedy you like, I’d say rent it first to be safe. Check it out if you like movies like Rush Hour or Bad Boys, or movies with the “buddy cop” premise in general. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

2 Comments to “Movie Review: The Heat”

  1. For me, this movie was LMAO. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

