Disperser, The Return – Week 11

by disperser

So, this week I return to the world of SV-1.

It’s been a busy four weeks for me, and the amount of writing I have done is not significant . . . meaning, I did little fiction writing.

I did post an editorial I don’t mind sharing (HERE).

It’s peripherally related to writing.  For them who are not familiar with Ender’s Game, it’s a popular book from 1985, written by Orson Scott Card.

Mr. Card has certain beliefs and views I find objectionable, but he did write one fine book.  

Well, he wrote many fine books, but this one, for me, stands above the rest.  There are a sequels to Ender’s Game, but I only read two of them, Speaker for the Dead and Xenocide, and they do not rise to the level of Ender’s Game.  I struggled to finish Xenocide, and to my mind neither of those two sequels add anything of value to the original.

But, that is not why I wrote the editorial.  Ender’s Game is coming out as a movie, scheduled for release at the end of this year, and that has prompted various gay rights groups to raise their voices in protest, and to call for a boycott of the movie.  The reason?

Mr. Card’s views regarding gay marriage.

My opinion of boycotts in general is pretty low, and like many, this makes no sense to me.  Anyway, if you want to read my thinking on why an author’s (or actor’s, politician’s, sports figure’s, or celebrities in general) views should not drive the assessment of what they produce, click on the link above.

If not, please proceed in an orderly manner to the next post . . .

Oh, wait . . . xkcd.com perfectly captures my feelings on the book in the following cartoon.  For those not familiar with the site, you’re missing out on a lot of good stuff.

Leave a Reply

