Disperser, The Return – Week 13

by disperser

Week 13 of my return . . . were I a superstitious man, I would label this post “Week 14”, thus avoiding the whole “bad luck” thing.

I always wondered about hotels doing that.  Chinese people do not like the number 4 (the pronunciation of the number apparently is close to that of the word “death”, or so I am told), and they resort to the same tactics to fool bad luck into thinking it’s a different number.

All I get from this is that Luck must be one dumb summabich.  Honest, if you can fool Luck into not giving you a bad part of itself just by changing the number to something else, it tells me Luck skipped a whole bunch of schooling.

Anyway, I’m safe with my SV-1 chapter, since it’s number 26.  Uh-oh . . . that’s twice 13 . . . Oh, that’s right, if Luck can’t count, it also can’t divide or multiply.  Enjoy.

One Comment to “Disperser, The Return – Week 13”

  1. I’m with you on the luck and numbers thing. Superstitions are fascinating. I looked up why 13 is considered unlucky. Of course, there are different theories. One is that during the Last Supper (the one with Jesus), there were 13 people at the table. Another is that years with 13 full moons messed up the monks who were in charge of keeping calendars in proper order. A third has to do with misogyny, believe it or not. In ancient cultures, the number 13 represented femininity, because it corresponded to the number of lunar (menstrual) cycles in a year (13 x 28 = 364 days). The theory is that, as the solar calendar triumphed over the lunar, the number thirteen became anathema. Go figure…

Leave a Reply

