Movie Review: I, Frankenstein

by paigeaddams

Vampire Queen by Lala-Mot  Hello all, and welcome to my review of I, Frankenstein! 😀

Horror Society   San Diego Comic Con 2013: 3 New Character Posters for I, Frankenstein!   www.horrorsociety.com  Starring: Aaron Eckhart (Adam), Bill Nighy (Wessex/Prince Naberius), Yvonne Strahovski (Terra), Miranda Otto (Leonore/Queen of the Gargoyles), Jai Courtney (Gideon), Socratis Otto (Zuriel)

Plot (taken from Yahoo! Movies):

“200 years after his shocking creation, Dr. Frankenstein’s creature Adam still walks the earth. But when he finds himself in the middle of a war over the fate of humanity, Adam discovers he holds the key that could destroy humankind.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Aaron Eckhart (Adam) – plays an interesting version of Frankenstein’s monster. He starts out much more animal than man, acting out on instinct because he doesn’t know how to deal with his emotions. It’s like in psychology class when they talk about the Id, Ego, and Superego. He’s Id, pretty much. Focused on his own needs and surviving, with the exclusion of everything else going on around him. When he learns about the demon vs. gargoyle war, he could care less, as long as it doesn’t directly get in his way. Definitely a good anti-hero type, heavy on the “anti” part. 🙂

Bill Nighy (Wessex/Prince Naberius) – is amazing, as always. I love this actor. He plays a magnificent villain. Creeptastic and evil, he has a subtle kind of intimidating presence that just makes you feel like he’s the last person you’d want to cross. Ever since I saw him in the first Underworld, he has quickly become a favorite. 🙂

Yvonne Strahovski (Terra) – plays a very intelligent heroine. Her strength isn’t so much in being able to kick massive amounts of demon butt, but mainly in being able to evaluate situations that she finds herself in, and think quickly so she can get out of them alive. I do wish she had kicked a little demon butt though, lol, but still – a good heroine. 🙂

Miranda Otto (Leonore/Queen of the Gargoyles) – plays a benevolent Queen. She’s kind and graceful, and sees something in Adam right away that no one else does. My only complaint with her is that I really wish I had seen her fight. For some reason, even though she’s Queen of the Gargoyles, she kicks precisely zero butt in this movie. Zero. She’s passive. How has she survived as Queen in this war if she’s just giving orders and not actually doing anything? I think this may not have been such a big deal to me if Prince Naberius had been the same. If they were both the kind of leaders who don’t fight (but serve an equally important purpose), I may not have noticed so much when Leonore was so passive during certain scenes. She’s portrayed as intimidating, but never really displays why she’s such an intimidating Queen.

Jai Courtney (Gideon) – Loyal, but very stubborn and a little close-minded, this character always puts the mission first. He’s very slow to trust, which is probably how he’s survived so long in this brutal war, and absolutely does *NOT* trust Adam AT ALL.

Socratis Otto (Zuriel) – plays a good support role for Prince Naberius. He hunts Adam, trying to help the Prince with what he’s planning. He’s tough, and almost as scary as Prince Naberius. Lol, almost.

Review:

Okay, so – this one had *A LOT* to live up to in my mind because they emblazoned the words “from the producers of Underworld” across my field of vision for a split second in the trailer.

That did it.

You can’t just casually drop the name of one of my favorite movies and expect me not to make comparisons, and not have certain expectations of awesomeness.

This movie’s fate was sealed from that point on.

Despite this not being in any way related to Underworld, besides the producers, they awakened that nit-picky side of me that normally only surfaces for sequels of movies I love.

Lol, this means I could potentially leave the movie in this kind of mood:

*insert intimidating battle shout*

One great thing that did meet my Underworld mood craving immediately, and give me hope I’m really happy to say, was the soundtrack. I’m kind of in love with the music from Underworld, and I have to admit that I love this soundtrack too. 😀 I will be buying it.

In. Love.

Thorn Wing Heart; art, Black, Drawing, gothic, heart, love, painting, picture, thorn wing heart, Thorns, White, wings

Going into this, even never having read Frankenstein, I knew this was going to be a huge departure from the original work. And, from what little I know, it was. A gigantic one. The details of his creation, and who created him, are really the only things I recognized.

Lol, so if you’re looking for something anywhere near the original story, this may not be the movie for you. To say they took creative liberties is probably one of the biggest understatements I’ve ever made, as you can see from the trailer and pictures I’ve included.

That’s not to say you shouldn’t see it. I actually like seeing different versions of the same story – and this is a really interesting take on it. 🙂

I, Frankenstein Movie 2014 Wallpaper HD 1

Adam was a really good (as in well-written/well-acted) anti-hero, and right off the bat, within the first 5 minutes of the movie, he solidifies his status as “not fitting the hero mold AT ALL.” In fact, there were several minutes – after those initial 5 – where I was rather hoping the movie would end in his death, in some dramatic fashion.

Yeah.

It wasn’t the worst thing he could have done, but it was bad enough to make me wish the main character would be eaten by Rodents Of Unusual Size. (time for my favorite game – name that quote!)

He crossed the line, as far as one can without going full villain, while attempting to still end up as some form of hero at the end of the movie.

Normally, this is a deal-breaker for me. If I can’t respect the main character, I have trouble watching the movie – especially if I actually want them to get taken out in the end.

But the way they tried to explain his actions made a twisted kind of sense, and it was enough to make him redeemable in the right light I guess. He was more monster than anything else in the beginning of the movie, and went with the whole Id thing I described above. He didn’t understand why he was created, or why he had to go through everything he did – and he lashed out like some wounded animal, if animals had a concept of revenge.

As the movie progresses, however, he does manage to make a connection that begins to change him. He starts to learn to trust – lol, very, very slowly.

The CG was not the best – it was a little off in some places, but not too bad. I think most of the off-ness was with the gargoyles once they were transformed, and the demons as they were transforming. Some transformed gargoyle movements were a little clunky, but not enough to really take anything away from the experience in my opinion. The same could be said about the first Underworld movie though, and, as with Underworld, I can easily overlook it in favor of the plot. 🙂

The fight scenes were pretty good as well. Fast and more graceful than you’d expect with the minor CG issues that the gargoyles and demons had. I also liked the idea of descending to hell or ascending to heaven.

I think what I like most about this movie is how Adam grew as a character. In the beginning, it was all about survival, and what he needed. He was a little more concerned for others in the end, I think. He made a conscious decision to do some things that were not solely for his benefit.

So, really, he was kind of redeemable. 🙂

New Wallpaper I, Frankenstein 2014

My Rating for I, Frankenstein: Not Bad with some Cash-Worthy moments thrown in. I’m still on the fence about whether or not I’ll buy it – I may have to see it again to decide. But, ultimately, I did like this one. 🙂 Definitely check it out if you like Frankenstein, and don’t mind some really huge, massive, ginormous liberties being taken with the original work. Lol, I’m not over-exaggerating. Also, it’s a good one if you like the mood and atmosphere of the Underworld series of movies, or darker fantasy in general, and well-done anti-heroes.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

Artwork Credits:

The artwork in my greeting is “Vampire Queen” by Lala-Mot, on Deviant Art.

The heart artwork is “Thorn Wing Heart” by Sky Lumina, on Picable.

~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

