Puddles of Malcontent

by Len

Tears stream down mixing with rain

Cold and lonely, opened to pain

My soul lay bare and my resolve is spent

As I sink in the puddles of malcontent

Fighting a battle I cannot win

Rain and tears run down my skin

My once proud form now is bent

As I kneel in the puddles of malcontent

To give up hope is to slowly die

But my heart is dark, so too the sky

I fear my time has been wastefully spent

As I drop in the puddles of malcontent

I pray for wisdom to see me through

For skies and eyes of truest blue

The key to my happiness, the answer sent

My reflection in the puddles of malcontent

Through all the rain and through the haze

I see myself in better days

Long have I sought love wherever it went

Now I rise from the puddles of malcontent

Rather we are together or even apart

I am the captain of my own heart

So when the sun shines, I will not lament

For the drying of puddles of malcontent

4 Comments to “Puddles of Malcontent”

  1. Very nice. Do you do a lot of poetry?

  2. I really like this. Fabulous poem.

Leave a Reply

