Movie Review: Lucy

by paigeaddams

Sci Fi - Women Warrior  Wallpaper  Hello all, and welcome to my movie review for Lucy!

Lucy (2014) DVD Release Date  Starring: Scarlett Johansson (Lucy), Morgan Freeman (Professor Norman), Min-sik Choi (Mr. Jang), Amr Waked (Pierre Del Rio)

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“A woman, accidentally caught in a dark deal, turns the tables on her captors and transforms into a merciless warrior evolved beyond human logic.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Scarlett Johansson (Lucy) – Totally. Badass. There is no other way to describe her. I also think the contrast between who she was before vs who she becomes is really interesting.

Morgan Freeman (Professor Norman) – I always love this actor. 🙂 He plays a very thoughtful, intelligent character.

Choi Min-sik (Mr. Jang) – This guy makes an awesome villain. The character he plays has just the right amount of sleazy and the scary kind of powerful. He seems unstoppable.

Amr Waked (Pierre Del Rio) – I liked this character for his calm acceptance of Lucy, and the fact that he seemed to help ground her, and remind her of her humanity.

Lucy 2014 Movie Screenshot Blue Eyes

Review:

From start to finish, this one was really well thought out. All the little clips in the beginning, as you’re seeing a glimpse of who Lucy was before everything gets crazy, made for a really interesting set up.

Lucy Movie 2014 Download Wallpaper

The way they showed Lucy evolving was both amazing and scary at the same time. As soon as the drug entered her system, it changed her in nearly every way.

I loved the different abilities she gained as she began using more and more of her brain. She was extremely efficient in everything she did, and she seemed fearless. Even pain was something she could analyze and break down, like data that could only effect her if she let it.

What I didn’t love was what her evolution did to her personality. It was like the emotion was sucked right out of her. And it happened so quickly, swallowing up who she used to be, that it made it hard to relate to her.

I get why they went that direction, but it definitely left a distance between the character and how much I could have cared for her. I feel like if she’d had just a few more instances of the old Lucy showing through, I could have sympathized with her more.

Every interaction she had with another person was distant. Detached. I don’t think it was that she didn’t care, I just think she skipped all the emotion that goes with caring and went right to the solution to the problem. Like a machine, pretty much.

This was concerning. I had flashes of other sci-fi movies where this happened.

Not such good times.

Did I mention the badassery though?

https://i0.wp.com/www.hdwallpaperscool.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/lucy-movie-scarlet-johansson-amazing-wallpaper.jpg

She really didn’t have to fight hand to hand, and still managed to be terrifying. This was both awesome, giving me all kinds of geeky happiness, and worrying at the same time. The longer I watched, and the more she evolved, I kept going back to my original thought when I saw the trailer – the smarter she gets, the less human she seems. And not in an interesting, superhero kinda way. More in the explodey-humanity-is-its-own-disease-so-I-must-kill-you-all-to-make-you-better kinda way.

Did it turn out as I feared?

Lol, I will at least say that I’m not inducting another movie title into my cuss word hall of fame, so that’s a plus. 🙂

Lucy 2014 Movie Screenshot 23

My rating for Lucy: Not Bad – This movie is a mixed bag of awesome and mind-bending. I enjoyed the way the plot unfolded, and where they chose to go with it, but it’s not my kind of movie. It has a lot of really cool sci-fi elements though, and is over-all really well done. I’d say check this one out if you like movies like The Matrix.

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

Artwork Credits:

I got my artwork for my greeting from a Yahoo! image search that led me: Here

~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

