Movie Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

by paigeaddams

  Hello all, and welcome to another movie review – Fifty Shades of Grey! 😀

**** Reader discretion advised: This post contains discussion of kinky type adult content and BDSM practices. ****

FIFTY-SHADES-OF-GREY-POSTER

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Starring: Jamie Dornan (Christian Grey), Dakota Johnson (Anastasia Steele)

 

Plot (taken from IMDb):

“Literature student Anastasia Steele’s life changes forever when she meets handsome, yet tormented, billionaire Christian Grey.”

Trailer:

Characters:

Jamie Dornan (Christian Grey) – Holy mother of- *ahem* I mean… This actor did an amazing job of playing Christian Grey. I sometimes had issue with the book version, but his big screen incarnation is intense.

Dakota Johnson (Anastasia Steele) – I’ve always been on the fence about this character, but I really like the movie version of her. She’s adorable.

Fifty Shades of Grey Trailer

Review:

Oh snap.

They did it.

They really, actually did it. O.O

Now, I’m not here to rag on other writers, but the book was not my cup of tea. It wasn’t a writing style I could easily get into, and I was often distracted by Ana’s noisy subconscious and inner goddess. That’s just my preference, to each their own. I know a lot of people who absolutely loved it, and the inclusion of the inner goddess/subconscious heckling peanut gallery.

It also didn’t help matters that the ending of the book really ruffled my feathers, so to speak. I’ve been told by others that the way things went down, especially in that last scene, is generally not the way BDSM is really done.

Unfortunately, these factors made it so I was unwilling to read the following two books, despite people telling me it gets better from there.

But, with all that said, why would I ever feel the urge to watch the movie?

Because Secretary meets erotic Twilight fanfiction, that’s why.

Secretary (2002) Movie Reviews

While I have some nitpicky little issues with Twilight, but still like it over all, I actually love Secretary. It was surprisingly cute for a movie about sadomasochism, and approached the whole subject with this quirky sense of humor.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that the screen version of Fifty Shades took the same approach in places. There were several funny moments, where I really appreciated Ana’s character a lot more.

At first the pacing seemed a little off, however. The whole beginning flew by, and before I knew it they were all over each other.

Fifty Shades Of Grey

There were some unexpectedly gentle moments from Mr. Grey, and times where he really seemed to care a lot more than he wanted to let on.

The rest of the movie, however, was a lot of naked.

Fifty Shades Of Grey

A LOT OF NAKED.

Naked. Everywhere.

Sexy naked time on that bed over there. (>O.O)>

Sexy naked time tied to that bed post over there. <(O.O<)

Sexy naked time chained up from the ceiling over yonder. ^(O.O)^

So. Much. Naked.

That’s not necessarily a bad thing, however, especially since this is a movie based on an erotic BDSM series of books. It would be crazy for it not to be extra steamy.

There was hair pulling, spanking, blindfolds, whipping with riding crops and floggers, ice cube foreplay, ropes, shackles, and neckties, oh my.

Fifty Shades Of Grey Cut Out The Book's Most Vulgar Scene, Here's Why image

None of this would have worked without Jamie Dornan’s intensity as Mr. Grey fueling the flames too. The playroom and sexual acts themselves were one thing, but the best part was how the chemistry between the characters was handled, and how Mr. Grey was portrayed. He was confident, rough, hungry, and so dominant. He knew exactly what he wanted, and he wasn’t at all shy about taking it. However he wanted, whenever he wanted, and as many times as he wanted.

Not that Ana minded. Because she really, really didn’t.

And she was worn out, and really sleepy after, lol.

Fifty-Shades-of-Grey

Awwww…

However, the ending still got me, just like the book.

Feathers: ruffled. -.-#

Mr. Grey has demons, and didn’t bother explaining anything – not how he was feeling or why he felt that way, or what his needs really meant, or anything that could have helped prepare Ana. He refused to be open with her, lost his shit, and did the exact opposite of what a good Dominant (I’m told by others) would have done by knowingly pushing her much farther than she was ready for. She did ask to be shown what he needed, but he didn’t have to do it like that. He broke the trust a Dominant builds with his Submissive, and that’s huge.

According to “a friend,” there are different ways to do BDSM, some involving pain and some not, but the key components are trust, and looking out for your partner. I even read ~ here ~ that it’s really the Submissive who’s more in control of the situation. The rules agreed upon by the Submissive dictate what can happen, and what can’t.

If anyone out there has a curiosity about BDSM, “a friend” suggests doing research outside this series of books. There is no doubt in my mind that the author had no ill intentions in portraying things the way she did, but it can be dangerous to jump into something like this without a proper understanding of safety. There are lots of resources out there from the perspective of safe, sane, and consensual (SSC) practices.

Safe Word ~ I cannot overemphasize the importance of always having a safe word system in effect .. safe, sane and consensual

*steps off soapbox*

And talk about a damn cliff-hanger! There is no way in hell there won’t be sequels – I would actually be upset if there weren’t.

But how do they fix this ending they left viewers with? Can they fix it? I guess time, and the sequels, will tell? We shall see.

Hell, I may even dust off the second book because of this. So – success?

All I know is Mr. Grey has A TON of explaining, groveling, and begging to do to even get close to making things up to Ana.

50 shades of Grey wallpaper by theanyanka

My rating for Fifty Shades of Grey: Somewhere between Not Bad and Cash-Worthy – I’m still kinda on the fence here. While I enjoyed the film adaptation a lot more than I thought I would, I’m still not sure how I feel about the pacing and the ending. Check this out if you like movies like Secretary or the Fifty Shades of Grey books, or BDSM/erotic romance in general.

PS: The soundtrack is amazing though! 😀

~~~~~~~~~~

My Rating System:

Epic: This movie is so mind-bogglingly awesome that I may go see it twice. This one will have a place of honor on my shelf.

Cash-Worthy: Good stuff. This will most likely find a place on my shelf.

Not Bad: I liked it. I’m glad I saw it, and it may or may not end up on my shelf at some point. I would say rent it first to be safe.

Meh: Rent it first. You may love it or hate it, but I’m indifferent probably because it’s not my type of movie. I’m glad I saw it, but it won’t end up on my shelf.

Emergency Cake: I have an emotional reaction to movies sometimes, especially to tragedies. If a movie makes me sad or angry, sometimes it will stick with me for a while. At these times, only chocolate cake can save me. Chocolate cake makes everything better. No shelf for you. Ever.

~~~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~~~

Artwork Credits:

The Christian & Ana Wallpaper I used at the end is by theanyanka, and can be found on DeviantArt ~ here.

~~~~~~~~~~

2 Comments to “Movie Review: Fifty Shades of Grey”

  1. Nice review, but I have no intentions of reading the books or seeing the movie. For me (and this is only my opinion), this story is not about love or caring, it’s about dominance and control. I’ve heard enough about this book, and the ending, to know I would be very irritate, even angry, if I read the books or saw the movie. I just don’t know why these books are being glorified the way they are. What he does to her is cruel and abusive, i don’t care if she did sign a contract. She endures the abuse because she’s afraid of losing him. That speak volumes of low self-esteem and dependence. Not a message I’d prefer seeing in the world. But, like I said, that is my opinion. I’m glad you enjoyed the movie to the extent you did. Thank you for taking the time to do the review.

    • Thank you, kford! 😀 I appreciate you reading my review, especially since this one isn’t your cup of tea. This was an interesting one to write, and I went to “a friend” for their perspective of the subject matter because it’s a bit controversial.

      I was talking about this with a different friend on my main blog, and I was wondering what the appeal is in a more dominant type of male character? What’s the psychology behind it? Maybe it’s just a more intense bad boy archetype? It helps that he’s handsome, but maybe it’s more about his confidence? I think that’s what I initially found appealing about Christian Grey, and the story itself. We’ll see where it goes from here, but I am a little worried, lol.

      I agree about this not feeling like it’s as much about love though – that’s one of the big reasons I didn’t make it past the first book, and still may not. Any affection they have for each other is so twisted up by the end of the first story, that I’m not entirely sure how healthy this all is. Christian can’t even admit to himself that he cares about Ana (can’t stand to be touched by her, or sleep in the same bed) – the man has issues he needs to face, and he really isn’t.

      I’m with you – the ending made me angry, and I don’t blame you for not wanting to expose yourself to that. The explanation others have given me for his behavior there does little to help the sense that he’s using her as a scapegoat under the guise of kink. And I agree with your description of Ana too – another reason I didn’t make it far. Her affection for him is more like obsession, to the point of compromising who she is.

      I think it’s all being glorified because it’s such a risqué subject. All the hype kind of surprised me too – this isn’t the first erotica novel or movie to feature BDSM, it’s just the first to get this much attention I think. Lol, and I’m not entirely sure why it did – maybe just right time, right place? Or because it started out as erotic fanfiction of Twilight? Whatever the case, I wish all the hype and attention was coupled with people educating themselves on the subject. This is a dangerous thing for people to just throw themselves into after reading or watching the material.

Leave a Reply

