The Dark Globe – The Question of God

by darkjade68

THE DARK GLOBE – EDITORIAL – TENTH EDITION

by DarkJade

The Question of God…

 

 

Let me start by saying this… I respect all humans rights to have specific beliefs, and/or belief systems. It’s called Free Will, and is something I subscribe to full heartedly.

That said, an interesting thing happened today… Prior to Thanksgiving, I posted a Post on my Main Blog The Written Word, called “The Dancing Turkey”.

Something I do around Holidays is throw up some Friendly Holiday Related Post, designed primarily to promote Fun, and Friendships here amongst our Writing Etc. Community of WordPress.

This morning I received a reply from a seemingly friendly fellow, I actually think he’s one of The Written Word Followers now that I think of it…

In this reply he refers to a Post he did, and places a link in the Comment. Which is fine, however I found myself in a bit of an awkward place.

For when I looked at the Blog Post, it seemed to have to do with God, and for me, that’s a very Personal Thing.

There are a few topics that people often steer a bit clear of in Social Situations in which all walks of life may be present.

Politics is one, and God the other. There might have been a third, but I can’t recall at the moment, lol.

My History with God is this… I was brought up without any particular Religion Present in our house… As far as I knew as a kid Atheism meant you were somewhere in the middle in regards to believing in a God. I later came to find out, that, that is not the case. Atheism means you don’t believe in a God, and for me, that’s completely different than being in the middle.

My Mom was brought up Catholic, and actually went to an all girls school for a bit, where the Teachers were Nuns… And my Grandma was Best Friends with one of my Mom’s Teachers, who I actually met as a child… She was a very nice woman, who kept candy in her pocket for just such an occasion.

My Mom’s relationship with “God” became rather rocky, when she wrote to the Pope to request an annulment from her first marriage, as she was only a teenager when she married him, and that was because they had, had a baby (my oldest sister), and he was hanging around some not so nice people.

When she was denied, I’d imagine that pretty much finished up her relationship with “God”.

My Dad, who I did not grow up with, became a Reborn Christian when I was a teenager, within his new marriage.

Now my Grandma didn’t preach to my brother and I when we were young about God, but she did take us to Mass at these big beautiful Catholic Churches, and I actually enjoyed it. It was particularly amusing when she’d take us to a Spanish Speaking Church, and we’d ask her what they were saying, and she replied “Oh, they all say the same thing” lol.

And when I lived with my Dad in 9th Grade, which was the only time I lived with him, he and I would go to Church on Sundays, while his New Wife, and my Step Brother stayed home. I actually enjoyed these times with my Dad, and the Minister was very nice, and told stories from real life, and referred to the Bible.

Although there was one time when he was absent, and a man (The Substitute Minister) in an all Light Blue Polyester Suit came in, and was Screaming, and Yelling about the Word of the Lord, followed by having people step forward to be healed by his touch… That was a bit much for me as a kid.

Perhaps it’s a bit Taboo for me to do a Post on the subject of God… But, receiving a Post Reply referring to God, opened my mind to an interesting situation, and so I thought it might be something worth Writing about.

Like I say, to me, God is a very Personal thing… Something that each of us needs to figure out on our own.

Thanks for Listening/Reading

DarkJade-

PICTURE CREDIT – Throne of Heaven

8 Comments to “The Dark Globe – The Question of God”

  1. I liked your post. it’s a little different than what you usually write. I think you did it with taste, and it won’t offend anyone. I was raised a Catholic, and I take my son to church on Sundays. When he is older he can make his own choices. I just want him to believe in something. It could be the God of the Bible, or it could be his own higher power. I figure if he turns out believing in something, is a good person, and contributes something to the world, I won’t be upset. What type of person he becomes is more important than what church or religious ideology he chooses.

    • Thanks Pdk, It’s not something I’d normally Write about, however as this is kinda a News Paper Themed Styled Blog, I figure we can basically talk about anything.

      It’s a very touchy subject, but it’s also important to a lot of people, so I thought I’d share my thoughts.

      DarkJade-

  2. I know what you mean, I seem to avoid reference to God in my blog, only making reference when it seems to fit. There is so much diversity in beliefs, it is easier to just keep it friendly and all inclusive

    • Yeah, like I say, it’s something that just kinda came up today from a situation on my other Blog… And, I don’t know, I had an instinct to talk about it… Who knows if it was the right thing to do, but it is kind of sad that something that is potentially important to other people is such a tricky subject to bring up

      Thanks for the Comment Maggie

      DarkJade-

  3. You’re right it IS a touchy subject, and I appreciate your honesty. Something like this is usually left out, or taken so far it just causes problems. You handled this well. And as a pretty zealous Christian myself, I can’t say there was anything I had a problem with personally. It was like getting to know you a little more.
    It’s pretty easy to just avoid this kinda subject. And with the kind of blog this is, you’ve taken a ‘risk’, but without being condescending or anything. Made me smile.
    Thank you.

    • No worries, it’s a huge world, and we’re all so different… I’m still not sure I should have brought it up, but I find it very difficult to just ignore my instincts… Generally nice people, are nice people, no matter what their beliefs are.

      Thanks for the Comment

      DarkJade-

  4. As a Christian myself it’s nice to read a post that’s open minded and not taking a hardline, ignorant viewpoint. Can’t agree more, DarkJade it was a tasteful post and I’m very glad. Often there is so much negativity around religion and Christianity and it is often ill-informed which I find annoying. So for a writer to face up and openly write about religion without forcing a viewpoint down people’s throats is a nice sight, good stuff! -Joe

    • It was a Tricky Piece, and not on a Subject that I had Planned on Writing about… But, like I say above, I had an instinct to Write it after running into a Unique Situation on my other Blog… And I really do feel that it’s so important to a lot of people, more so than being a Taboo subject. Also, as a Writer, it’s almost Impossible to ignore my Instincts. But, at the same time, I certainly don’t want to offend anyone.

      Thanks for the Comment Joe

      DarkJade-

Leave a comment